Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile

<a href="http://www.game-advertising-online.com/" target=_blank>Game Advertising Online</a><br> banner requires iframes

LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Other Games Exist Too > Thread: Magic: The Gathering Strategy and Discussion
Thread: Magic: The Gathering Strategy and Discussion [ This thread is 65 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (20) 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ]
mamgaeater
mamgaeater


Legendary Hero
Shroud, Flying, Trample, Haste
posted February 12, 2009 04:42 PM

Quote:
Quote:
do your buddies run wog?


Ohh another one

Child + predator dragon
You do know that would kill your dragon, right?

I'm not sure

play pred
sac child
child's effect goes onto stack

Then resolve

Child resolves
drag come into play.

I think thats how it would resolve anyway...
____________
Protection From Everything.
dota

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Lord_Woock
Lord_Woock


Honorable
Undefeatable Hero
Daddy Cool with a $90 smile
posted February 12, 2009 04:45 PM
Edited by Lord_Woock at 16:50, 12 Feb 2009.

Thing is, the devour sacrifices are not a cost. It's a "As this comes into play", so you sacrifice Child of Alara while Predator Dragon is resolving. Child's trigger goes on the stack, then Predator Dragon comes into play and, if nothing else happens, Child's trigger resolves and kills your dragon, among others.

EDIT: Since I'm not entirely certain about the above, I posted the question in the Rules Q&A section of the official boards. I'll post a link and/or quote once I get an answer.
____________
"Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do."
-- Isaac Asimov

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
mamgaeater
mamgaeater


Legendary Hero
Shroud, Flying, Trample, Haste
posted February 12, 2009 04:49 PM
Edited by Mamgaeater at 16:54, 12 Feb 2009.

oh, thanks Woock. now i don't need to get my predator dragon back from my brother.
I understand now, i'd need a creature with an additional cost to play ~ and haste.

edit: i've been away from those forums for such a long time, i wonder what ymtc looks like now.
____________
Protection From Everything.
dota

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Lord_Woock
Lord_Woock


Honorable
Undefeatable Hero
Daddy Cool with a $90 smile
posted February 12, 2009 04:56 PM
Edited by Lord_Woock at 17:12, 12 Feb 2009.

The first response to my thread just about confirms what I said on the matter:

Quote:
The dragon would die. It would devour the Child, come into play, and then be destroyed by the Child's ability.
The guy doesn't provide in-depth explanation of the interaction, but I'm pretty sure we're not both wrong.

EDIT: Here's a solid explanation:

Quote:
As the Predator Dragon comes into play, you're sacrificing the Child of Alara. So the Predator Dragon moves to the in-play zone (with two more +1/+1 counters) and Child of Alara move to the graveyard at the same time... and at the same time, Child of Alara's ability triggers. At some later point (just before someone gets priority), you put triggered abilities on the stack, and the Predator Dragon's already in play at this point.

In other words, there's no time between sacrificing Child of Alara and having Predator Dragon come into play when you can have triggered abilities trigger, move to the stack, wait for people to respond, and resolve.


Also, there are only five creatures with additional costs - the Lorwyn "reveal a tribe_name from your hand". Honorable mention to Chorus of the Conclave which gives your other creature spells optional additional mana costs in return for +1/+1 counters.

I suppose you can sacrifice Child of Alara with Carrion to kill all creatures and get six 0/1 creature tokens, but I can't think of a reason to do that.
____________
"Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do."
-- Isaac Asimov

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 12, 2009 05:12 PM

Here's some clarification.

Devour is indeed a come into play ability. As you play Devour, you must choose the targets, which then goes to the stack. Since abilities can't trigger mid-effect, the Child's ability goes on after it gets sacrificed. The Stacks' LIFO (Last in First Out) resolves, and the Child's Ability kills everything. Since Devour now has no legitimate target, its countered. Since the Dragon is already in play, it gets obiliterated before Devour ever resolves.

@Disturbed Gnu - I reccommend a stopgap measure in your sideboard just in case your enemies run Wrath/Damnation or anything other reset element. Persisters might give your army some resliency. Maybe a Gilt-Leaf Ambush or two could give you some persistence if your down on your luck. Presence of Gond can help with some token generation. Perhaps if you can get your hand on an Scion of the Wild.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
Lord_Woock
Lord_Woock


Honorable
Undefeatable Hero
Daddy Cool with a $90 smile
posted February 12, 2009 05:15 PM
Edited by Lord_Woock at 17:20, 12 Feb 2009.

Quote:
Here's some clarification.

Devour is indeed a come into play ability. As you play Devour, you must choose the targets, which then goes to the stack. Since abilities can't trigger mid-effect, the Child's ability goes on after it gets sacrificed. The Stacks' LIFO (Last in First Out) resolves, and the Child's Ability kills everything. Since Devour now has no legitimate target, its countered. Since the Dragon is already in play, it gets obiliterated before Devour ever resolves.
Not really clarification.

Devour is not a CIP trigger, because the Dragon's not yet in play when you sacrifice the creatures and add the counters. Devour does not go on the stack separately from the creature. Devour does not target and cannot be countered. Devour does not resolve separately from the creature it pertains to.
____________
"Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do."
-- Isaac Asimov

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Disturbed-Gnu
Disturbed-Gnu


Supreme Hero
Pro Bacon Vodka Brewer
posted February 12, 2009 05:26 PM

Quote:
I reccommend a stopgap measure in your sideboard just in case your enemies run Wrath/Damnation or anything other reset element. Persisters might give your army some resliency. Maybe a Gilt-Leaf Ambush or two could give you some persistence if your down on your luck. Presence of Gond can help with some token generation. Perhaps if you can get your hand on an Scion of the Wild.

To be honest, i don't know anything about the sideboard.. Any video or description link?
But yeah, i could add some of the Green/White elves from Shadowmor Turnabout.. Wilt-Leaf Cavaliers, and such creatures..
I have 3 Presence of Gond, but i actually didn't know which cards i should replace them with...
But i must have Scion of the Wild to replace rootbreaker worm and/or Goliath Spider.. That's better than Heedless One, and Jagged Scar Archers
"I Just found Doubling Season on gatherer! That card is gold."

Thanks

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 12, 2009 06:06 PM
Edited by sith_of_ziost at 18:09, 12 Feb 2009.

Oh yes, Doubling Season is very nice.

-Drove of Elves (fatty from creatures, with one sided Shroud)

-Overrun, of course.

-Mercy Killing? Target a doomed creature and sprout some tokens or just to get rid of prime targets that can doom you. (Apocalypse hydra?)

Just a few more suggestions.

BTW - A sideboard is a selection of any 15 cards that fit the format of play that you can swich with cards in your main deck between or before matches. It allows more flexibility in a deck and better preparedness. At no time is the sideboard anymore or any less than fifteen cards. Any number of cards swapped between the main deck and sideboard MUST be verified of their size.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
Disturbed-Gnu
Disturbed-Gnu


Supreme Hero
Pro Bacon Vodka Brewer
posted February 13, 2009 09:19 AM

I have 2 drove of elves in my deck already! Think you missed it in the list..

I have one mercy killing outside my deck, but i don't see the point in the card? Only if you mean to get rid of an enemy creature and give my opponent a lot of tokens i can kill with my tokens?

Overrun OMG that card is gold! Didn't know that one ;p

So, a sideboard is actually useless unless you whant to change your stragedy against opponents?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
mamgaeater
mamgaeater


Legendary Hero
Shroud, Flying, Trample, Haste
posted February 13, 2009 02:51 PM

Quote:


So, a sideboard is actually useless unless you whant to change your stragedy against opponents?


The sideboard is for sanctioned or tournament play primarily where you face your opponent for best two out of three. The sideboard is to allow for youto change your matchup. sideboards generally cover deck types, so if fairy decks were dominant in your metagame you'd have some sort of card that beats fairies.
____________
Protection From Everything.
dota

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 13, 2009 03:58 PM

I meant targeting Mercy Killing to your own creature.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
mamgaeater
mamgaeater


Legendary Hero
Shroud, Flying, Trample, Haste
posted February 13, 2009 04:06 PM

is path to exile any good?
____________
Protection From Everything.
dota

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 13, 2009 04:35 PM

Yes, very. Path to Exile jumps around indestructibles like Thornling and Spearbreaker Behemoth. It gets rid of regenerators, and all for increasing your opponents land count by one. In late game, thats nothing, and it could very will win you the game. In middle and early game, its still not that bad. Chances are that if you play it, you're running an offensive deck that can hold own WoG's and Vengeance-type cards, so your set. In a Naya deck, its downright evil to play against an opponent, considering that your mostly running creature based mana anyway. Plus what can spar with gargantuans, eh?

Btw, has anybody gotten a copy of Agents of Artifice?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
Lord_Woock
Lord_Woock


Honorable
Undefeatable Hero
Daddy Cool with a $90 smile
posted February 13, 2009 04:35 PM

Path to Exile is excellent, but very skill intensive. Usually, you don't want to play it in the first turns. You typically want to use it when another land won't matter much for your opponent. Or if they don't have any more basics in the deck.
____________
"Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do."
-- Isaac Asimov

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Disturbed-Gnu
Disturbed-Gnu


Supreme Hero
Pro Bacon Vodka Brewer
posted February 15, 2009 01:36 PM

Path to Exile is awesome! the only negative is that the opponent gets a free land + they can shuffle theire library..
But it's cheap to use, and is able to piss off your opponent..

I myself still prefer Unmake!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 15, 2009 11:17 PM

So, bought 7 packs today, and I didn't get one Mythic Rare. I got a Blood Tyrant and Charnelhoard Wurm, but you can get both of those out of the Grixis and Jund decks.

I wanted Nicol Bolas. That was it, and it wasn't too much to ask for, but, instead, I got these as rares:

-Sigil of the Empty Throne
-Sigil of the Empty Throne
-Blood Tyrant
-Charnelhoard Wurm
-Martial Coup (not bad)
-Cliffrunner Behemoth
-Obelisk of Alara (the only greatly appreciated one)

Ug...odds were that I'd have gotten at least one Mythic. Hell, I got three out of about ten Alara Packs. (Lich's Mirror, Sedris, and Empyrial Archangel).

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
Ecoris
Ecoris


Promising
Supreme Hero
posted February 16, 2009 04:00 AM
Edited by Ecoris at 04:01, 16 Feb 2009.

You should not buy packs if there is a single card you want. And it is actually not unlikely that you don't get a single mythic rare in seven packs.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
sith_of_ziost
sith_of_ziost


Promising
Supreme Hero
Scouting the Multiverse
posted February 16, 2009 10:02 AM

In fact, Wizards said the rarity of a Mythic is approx. 1 in 8, so for every eight packs, there's approx 1 Mythic. Unless you were lucky, like me, who got three in like five packs in Shards. I guess its just because Conflux is smaller and only has ten Mythics, so thats 14% of the set.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
Disturbed-Gnu
Disturbed-Gnu


Supreme Hero
Pro Bacon Vodka Brewer
posted February 16, 2009 10:06 AM
Edited by Disturbed-Gnu at 12:44, 17 Feb 2009.

Maan! 14% chances of getting a mythic in conflux!!
I just knew i should have ordered more than 2 boosters...

I just hope i'm more lucky than you sith. ;p Cool if i get 2 mythics out of 2 packs..

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Disturbed-Gnu
Disturbed-Gnu


Supreme Hero
Pro Bacon Vodka Brewer
posted February 17, 2009 12:43 PM

If a creature has two tap abilities, does both trigger when the creature is tapped? (example: a creature "Morslhoarder" with Sinking Feeling + Power of Fire! Is Morslhoarder able to (if tapped) get a -1/-1 counter on him, and then tap him for removing that counter to get mana + dealing one damage) Or do i have to choose which of the tap abilities i whant to trigger?

I know i ask a lot questions, but i feel like this is the place to ask.. You always answer me, and that helps a lot..

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
[ This thread is 65 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (20) 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 ] < Prev Thread . . . Next Thread >
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.2879 seconds