Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: Nimostar's Releases [WITH TOTAL CONVERSION "Greatest Mod"]
Thread: Nimostar's Releases [WITH TOTAL CONVERSION "Greatest Mod"] This thread is 10 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 · «PREV / NEXT»
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 24, 2016 11:25 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 23:29, 24 Oct 2016.

Karmakeld: They can be added separately, if you change the equi.h4r of 3.55 into new_mod.h4r and place in data folder, it will be read by equi 3.51 as objects and you will be able to play the maps (but all extra creature banks will still be "pirate islands" - and the 3.55 artifacts will crash the game when equip.)

My method is different in my mod, so that the nim_mod.h4r is reserved for submods of people / map mods to use hero creatures, custom tables, bridging patches, and the like.

Baronus As for the random map generator, it's an external program, right? So it has its own mechanisms, which I wasn't able to test. I generate random maps with extremely complex brushes, maps in "Brushmaps" folders are made purely by brushes, and some of them with one single brush with over ten layers.
So, it's probably possible to edit it, I just don't know how as it isn't a feature I use.

The next big update of Greatest Mod will include new, never seen before adventure objects, both decorative and variations of existing ones! As well as probably an updated, darker UI (but this will take longer to complete fully)

As for the link, just ignore the warning/disable. Rar encryption is safe. It is the same file in both. THus, your antivirus is actually marking the page as "used for malware", not the file. Everything will be fine!

Nostradamus:
The cyclops hero and others haven't made it on time for this release, write the three or four creatures missing you would like the most, in order of preference and I will release a patch for them for portraits and combat (too many creatures, not always enough heroes!).

In the patch I would also include the "maximum six rings of health" improvement
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 25, 2016 12:40 AM

Okay, I wasn't sure if you had also encrypted the other one. I might just wait for the next update, also I managed to break my editor after a 3.55 test gone wrong. So gonna have to reinstall it all again. But it's nice you kept the mod files separated. Haven't had time to go/read through all of your content yet, so I found it easier to ask. There's quite a lot.
Btw. Have you tried to insert all black creature template rings as you desired some time ago?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted October 25, 2016 10:14 AM

Cyclop,Titan,Behemoth.I vote for 6 rings in the hero coustam.One question,when playing your latest release,are there all hero creatures,even from your previous full creatures release?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 25, 2016 07:28 PM

Karmakeld:
I have not yet been able to, but I am hoping the Namerutan development will allow me to for the next big version.

The patch however will be launched on the mirror site and include the new maps, so maybe you can download that if you are innecesarily virus-phobic

Nostradamus:
A Titan is already included. Shiva, now male archer, although it wasn't fully stated in the readme, is completely a Titan hero.

About the full creatures, not all are included here,  because I have to build the files manually for each version, file by file. Also, the Greatest Mod heroes are different from the normal ones, as you have surely noticed. If there's ever a "final release", all will be included there for further moddability, though. Technically the Hero Creatures and Greatest Mod can be combined.

As for the rings of health, and the Behemoth and Cyclops, I am working on it. What I can tell you is that the new portraits will have to wait to the next version, though, because my portrait editor broke again.





As of now, you can place two "Rigs" in the ring slots in the editor, and the other four you can place manually from backpack while playing.

THis hero defeated 22 nagas with life magic and lots of HP
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted October 25, 2016 08:00 PM
Edited by Baronus at 20:01, 25 Oct 2016.

You copied saint from greek icon as hero?! Give me link im interesting who is this saint.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 25, 2016 08:29 PM

Okay maybe I'm just totally hopeless, but I simply fail to locate the nim_mod.h4r file. I've looked through all folders, including the creature pack.
Well I'm curious to see if you can make it work, with Namerutan's tool. Also curious if it should somehow be possible to add more heroes.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 25, 2016 09:27 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 21:30, 25 Oct 2016.

Karmakeld, you are indeed hopeless, but I remain hopeful

You can't find the nim_mod.h4r because it doesn't exist, not yet anyways. It is an "open slot" much as new.h4r, new_mod.h4r, etc... they are not included by default, but they are included in the .exe, so that if you create a new resource by that name, the game will read it. My mod reads from nim_mod, equilibris from new_mod, and default Heroes from New.

The patch I will soon release (perhaps tomorrow) will use up the nim_mod.h4r until the next full version is ready, but normally this slot would be able to be used by mini-mods... as indeed is the case now. In fact, the patch is nothing more than a mini-mod for the mod.

Baronus:
This image is reportedly from an angel, probably Gabriel or Michael (MIKAEL ?) . Here is a similar, if older, icon: https://iconreader.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/arcmichael_14cbyz.jpg https://iconreader.wordpress.com/2012/01/12/the-divinely-revealed-appearance-of-angels-in-icons/
Because of an omission in my mod, however, the angel does not display as an angel ingame, but as a female monk. This is to be corrected by the patch : P

New heroes... not possible yet that I know of, but Nostradamus editing tool may help change it. I have discovered today a new thing about Heroes, which I will share later on the Heroes Modding Revisited thread: Generic heroes (bios and names) are actually used by the game, just not on a normal way.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
verriker
verriker


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Jonny Come Sometime
posted October 25, 2016 09:41 PM

NimoStar said:
New heroes... not possible yet that I know of, but Nostradamus editing tool may help change it. I have discovered today a new thing about Heroes, which I will share later on the Heroes Modding Revisited thread: Generic heroes (bios and names) are actually used by the game, just not on a normal way.


I assume you're going to say, that you can get the generic heroes, if you hire out the entire hero pool of a hero class, and then they appear as clone replacements for the usual heroes in tavern lol

if so that was already known years mate sorry to not mention that earlier, otherwise carry on lol
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 25, 2016 10:09 PM

Verriker, you beat me to it..

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted October 25, 2016 10:13 PM

You have my thanks to be my guide Nimo,but I just couldnīt find that Shiva,a male archer in portrait window not in previous or latest mod.If I donīt bother too much,can you take some time and look again for that hero creature Titan,I thank you in advance.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Nimostar
Nimostar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 26, 2016 12:04 AM

Well, the content of the mechanics is the same, but actually I was going to say that the way to do it is placoling lots of random heroes as neutrals in the map,  which can be. done even as cluttered neutral gartison... and my approach to using it is a bit different from stardard, because possibly this generic heroes can be used as Extra Hero Creatures,assibiliylty henceforth never conceived . seeing as soon enough we may be able yo edit combat anims even more for aninfinite variety of heroes, this is quite important for modding. More testing however is required.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted October 26, 2016 12:51 AM

One facetool can add new faces and new lines in hero table? So you can add new heroes.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 26, 2016 10:36 AM

The Equilibris FaceTool only replaces the portraits. Hopefully Namerutan's program can add extra portraits, but I think you need to pack them in the main h4r file. Facetool creates a new mod file, so you'd have to change the way it's programmed. But I think you got a point about the tables. If you can add extra lines and determine how it's linked to which portrait it might be possible. I'm sure others know more about the technicalities than me

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted October 26, 2016 10:51 AM

So create new and repack to equilibris. Only another pack for def is needed.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
PandaTar
PandaTar


Promising
Supreme Hero
Celestial Heavens Mascot
posted October 26, 2016 02:56 PM

Well, this is beyond amusing (and pleasing) too see. When H7 dies and fails to deliver, H4 ignites into action. Congrats to all involved, of course. I'll keep an eye here, although cannot get into work as well. Still, future is as it is not. ^_^
____________

Heroes-based proposal thread – On hold, while I'm writing my book. =)

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 27, 2016 05:31 AM

You cannot work here, or you cannot get the mod to work, PandaTar? Those are quite different things and I would like to know about the second to fix bugs or make reccomendations : P

Facetool creates a new mod file but you can extract it anyways. Also, decent mods such as mine (?) have their own nomenclature for files... in this case, the facetool .h4r only has to be renamed - If your question is, how to change default facetool location of reading portraits? (for example, to edit my portraits)... I do not know. In theory you could extract the portraits and rename them to be edited, but I'm not sure if this will work because the imprefect "resedit2" way my mod was packed. Ah, things of like (and of modding )

I still have the separate original modded portrait file which I use to edit myself, and it would be editable with facetool to others. So maybe I will publish that later, if someone wants to edit my "wheel".

* * * * *

About adding new heroes:
The ground here may or may not be more murky than it seems.
Think of the next: The game has some "hardcoded" functions for heroes, such as the generic ones. What happens if we go over some limit of default/permitted heroes? There may be problems when substituing.

Other problems include that this is untested.
The game always reads the portraits, correctly, no matter what file they are in.
We have sic files, one for each alignement, and yet the game reads the portrait regardless if you change class.
This is suspicious.
Why?
Because it may indicate some harcoded inflexible element in the .exe that unites heroes with their portraits, but perhaps only "default" heroes, somewhat as it does with the spells (each programmed separately).
More investigation is needed, but first, let's wait for the new tool... otherwise this would just be working to solve a problem that may or may not even exist in the first place
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 27, 2016 11:54 PM

There doesn't seem to be any system regarding the generic heroes (link between names and classes). You could easily test this, but I'm quite certain any 'double' hero, regardless of class or portrait, could end up with the same generic name. E.g. 2nd hired Darkstorm or Arkenvoss could both be named Arla. Now I don't know if the generic heroes come in the order they're listed in, in the tables or if it's randomly picked - haven't checked.
I also just recalled you can view all the portraits with Namerutan's tool. Maybe you can determine if they come in the same order as in the table or if they seem to be linked otherwise (hardcoded). Maybe this knowledge could determine whether it'd be worth to try to mod or not.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 28, 2016 12:29 AM

What I mean is... does the program recognize generic heroes just because they say "generic" on the table, or does it has fixed positions for them?

Or, as you asked, does the game assign hero portraits based on Names (actually "keywords"... and I know and have checked that image layers of portraits are also named/keyworded), Table position, or are they linked in the .exe?

As my problem with generic ones, it goes beyond to that if they are random or not (my bet is: they aren't) but, what happens when you have los of nen-generic heroes for a class, actually more than the generic ones needed to replace them all... does the game crashes? Or does it start over in the generic table (unlikely)?
This is also linked to the question of the extra generic heroes.

Furthermore, do the generic ones have their own "image" if you add it as an special image, do they use the default, or do they use the one in their original hero? AKA, what "values" of the generic hero actually are read by the program? Just the name and bio, or also their image references?

All of these things could be tested... But there's little use doing it while we don't still have the tool to add new portraits (not usable, at least). I am trying to help Namerutan to fix/develop it, so let's wait...
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LizardWarrior
LizardWarrior


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Age of erwins is over
posted October 29, 2016 12:42 PM

Not sure if it has been asked before, but can you add totally new creatures, not replacing/modifying an existing one? Also about graphics, I remember ResEdit could open and extract data from h4, and ResEdit can be used to add graphics in h3, can it add in h4 too?
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Namerutan
Namerutan

Tavern Dweller
posted October 29, 2016 01:04 PM
Edited by Namerutan at 13:04, 29 Oct 2016.

LizardWarrior said:
Also about graphics, I remember ResEdit could open and extract data from h4, and ResEdit can be used to add graphics in h3, can it add in h4 too?

ResEdit2 can add resource files to a .h4r package. The question is how to create these resource files for a creature/hero. For Heroes3 you can use DefMaker, but for Heroes4 I don't know any tool; that's why I'm working to develop my own tool.


LizardWarrior said:
Not sure if it has been asked before, but can you add totally new creatures, not replacing/modifying an existing one?

I think it could be done, but it requires to modify the exe, and that will be hard. Once we have a tool to create new models or edit the existing ones, we could start doing better tests.

____________
Ven a La Torre de Marfil

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 10 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0836 seconds