Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: H4 Renaissance: Greatest Mod V18 [DOWNLOAD]
Thread: H4 Renaissance: Greatest Mod V18 [DOWNLOAD] This thread is 5 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 · «PREV
LordBoogieBlue
LordBoogieBlue

Tavern Dweller
posted August 05, 2018 01:02 AM
Edited by LordBoogieBlue at 02:02, 05 Aug 2018.

Thankyou that's still very helpful wow.

You actually pretty much helped me get what I wanted, I wanted the Lord looking hero but not have Estates and stuff which is fantastic thankyou so much.

I still woulda preferred completely blank heroes but this is very good.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted August 05, 2018 04:42 AM

There are compoletely blank heroes in the scenario editor.

Find them at Characters - Blank Heroes in the palette. They come in all appearances.

You still have to give them skills if you don't want them appearing with the default ones ingame, though.

On the other side, making all heroes start completely blank would be a somewhat novel take
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LordBoogieBlue
LordBoogieBlue

Tavern Dweller
posted August 05, 2018 05:54 AM

Oops yeah How did I miss that woulda been simpler I thought those blanks heroes were for something else lol.

Also I now realise I can't stop game assigning skills when its completely blank which is a shame

Will you be adding the new object stuff that people have made, coz that be awesome I'm sure they be cool with that.

____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted August 05, 2018 06:45 AM
Edited by NimoStar at 06:48, 05 Aug 2018.

It is possible with my method probably to make all hero classes completely skilless from the .exe but I think this would take away from the fun of the game.

---

I believe I have the permission to add the objects, yes.

But the changes for next version are comprehensive so it will take some time.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted August 05, 2018 08:47 AM
Edited by Karmakeld at 00:13, 07 Aug 2018.

Indeed you have permission to add the objects, but unless you edited away the storm_updates.h4r from the exe, it should be readable by your mod as it is, as the file name is an used resource file name already listed by the game to be read from.

Edit: just remember to give credit to those who contributed/made the objects..

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Hired Hero
posted August 05, 2018 07:40 PM
Edited by Roman2211 at 19:44, 05 Aug 2018.

Karmakeld said:
Indeed you have permission to add the objects, but unless you edited away the storm_updates.h4r from the exe, it should be readable by your mod as it is, as the file name is an used resource file name already listed by the game to be read from.
Better is x2_updates.h4r and new.h4r, new_mod.h4r for Equilibris

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted August 05, 2018 11:49 PM

I have already my own mod extra files because of the edited .exe so it would be easy to just include them there, but thanks for worrying :V
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted August 06, 2018 01:16 AM

Roman2211 said:
Karmakeld said:
Indeed you have permission to add the objects, but unless you edited away the storm_updates.h4r from the exe, it should be readable by your mod as it is, as the file name is an used resource file name already listed by the game to be read from.


Better is x2_updates.h4r and new.h4r, new_mod.h4r for Equilibris


Why would those be better? New_mod.h4r is automatically generated by anyone who ever used the Facetool, so that would overwrite any custom portraits, also it's only compatible with the Equi mod. The same goes for new.h4r.
I consider x2_updates.h4r and storm_updates.h4r to be equivalant, in that they're both unused and don't interfere with other h4r files. I may be that x2_updates.h4r is read by vanilla game where as storm requires the expansion, but currently the object package contains objects from both expansions, so there's really no differenve between the two. Rather the advantage of using either storm_updates.h4r or x2_updates.h4r is that they can be read by most versions and mods.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted August 06, 2018 08:08 AM

storm_updates.h4r is not good for modding because things you put there will be overwritten by other files later. For example creatures.h4d will be overwritten by x2_updates.h4r  creatures.h4d

And you can still use New_mod.h4r with the facetool faces. Just extract the portraits file and import it again in the new bundle along with the rest of things you want to include.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted August 06, 2018 09:53 AM

NimoStar said:
storm_updates.h4r is not good for modding because things you put there will be overwritten by other files later. For example creatures.h4d will be overwritten by x2_updates.h4r  creatures.h4d


Well you can just extract and repack all the files in the storm_updates.h4r
Joke aside, as both storm_updates and x2_updates are unused file names, for x2_updates to overwrite storm_updates that would require the precense of that file. That's currently not the case, to my knowledge not even your mod uses the x2_updates.
Also I'm very much aware of giving each new file a unique file name, so no clashes of files will occour. For now with just objects there's no doublicates, hence no files will be overwritten. Keep in mind the object package is not a mod intended to change game files, it's merely for adding new objects.
The only issue I can think of, is if I included a new hero portraits.lay file, that would likely be overwritten by the winds portraits. Admitted I hadn't initially thought of overwriting issues, as the project was meant only for new objects. But with this in mind, I'll rename the storm_updates to x2_updates.

NimoStar said:

And you can still use New_mod.h4r with the facetool faces. Just extract the portraits file and import it again in the new bundle along with the rest of things you want to include.


I know that, but you're assuming anyone who ever used the FaceTool also knows how to pack h4r files - I assume the majority either don't know or would prefer not to have to extract and repack. What's wrong with being userfriendly?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted August 06, 2018 09:54 AM
Edited by radmutant69 at 10:13, 06 Aug 2018.

NimoStar said:
storm_updates.h4r is not good for modding because things you put there will be overwritten by other files later. For example creatures.h4d will be overwritten by x2_updates.h4r  creatures.h4d

And you can still use New_mod.h4r with the facetool faces. Just extract the portraits file and import it again in the new bundle along with the rest of things you want to include.


I think this overwriting problem will happen only if you're storing files in the x2_updates with the same names as the files in storm_updates. Just don't do that...

Also if my memory serves well, this object pack was packed like that because it should be easily used even by people who don't know how to pack h4r files. But it should not cause any problem to you since you can handle it on your own.

(Well done. I wasn't fast enough with this post )

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted August 06, 2018 10:12 AM

Radmutant69, it appears we posted almost pretty much the same answer simultaneously

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted August 06, 2018 01:55 PM

Just a glitch in the matrix, nothing more

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LordBoogieBlue
LordBoogieBlue

Tavern Dweller
posted August 06, 2018 09:57 PM

Well I hope you guys work this out, you can never have too many objects in my opinion
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LordBoogieBlue
LordBoogieBlue

Tavern Dweller
posted August 07, 2018 12:33 AM
Edited by LordBoogieBlue at 01:16, 07 Aug 2018.

I was trying the remastered campaigns and I instantly ran into what feels like an impossible level.

'game_maps.storm_campaign.Death-Life.h4c' was the level I struggled with instantly. I played on Advanced difficulty and usually never had trouble this bad before.

I think problem is Pikeman is now a weak creature and the magi are super strong, maybe some slight changes could be made on some of the maps to better reflect the changes. Maybe you guys should check it to make sure I'm not just being a noob, I couldn't capture the first castle that you start near it was too hard.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Hired Hero
posted August 07, 2018 06:01 AM
Edited by Roman2211 at 06:01, 07 Aug 2018.

LordBoogieBlue said:
'game_maps.storm_campaign.Death-Life.h4c' was the level I struggled with instantly. I played on Advanced difficulty and usually never had trouble this bad before.
there is a trick, "poison + fatigue" and run around the battlefield)))

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted August 07, 2018 07:09 AM
Edited by NimoStar at 07:11, 07 Aug 2018.

Quote:
I was trying the remastered campaigns and I instantly ran into what feels like an impossible level.

'game_maps.storm_campaign.Death-Life.h4c' was the level I struggled with instantly. I played on Advanced difficulty and usually never had trouble this bad before.

I think problem is Pikeman is now a weak creature and the magi are super strong, maybe some slight changes could be made on some of the maps to better reflect the changes. Maybe you guys should check it to make sure I'm not just being a noob, I couldn't capture the first castle that you start near it was too hard.


The changes in these creatures level are not radical enough as to make this impossible... though I do admit it would make it harder so I will revise it. I have revised several campaign maps to better fit the creatures new powers level, just not all.

Anyways you can always use a lower difficulty or the cheat menu (in window mode, cheat meanu is always enabled by default). But this is an open world map so you should have no problem just leveling a bit before attacking the castle, there are even some recruiting places.


https://imgur.com/a/Zunkl8F

However I must point out the most important thing... is that Gathering Storm campaigns had not been remastered in the last release, only Winds of War and two normal H4 ones. You can see that all have the same "Last modified" date from when they were extracted. For the full experience of remastered campaigns (with extra decoration, secret addendums and better rebalancing) I reccomend playing Winds of Wars ones, at least until others are updated in next version. That is why only it says "remastered" on the subfolder.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LordBoogieBlue
LordBoogieBlue

Tavern Dweller
posted August 09, 2018 02:02 AM

Ok its fine, I think I was being a bit of a noob too . I slightly adjusted it myself to give myself equivalent creatures.

____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
CTPAHHuK
CTPAHHuK


Adventuring Hero
krs.83@mail.ru
posted August 09, 2018 09:13 AM

Hi, NimoStar. Check your HC messenger.
____________
Heroes
of might and magic 4 on-line
World Championships

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 5 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 · «PREV
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0444 seconds