Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 5 - Temple of Ashan > Thread: ~ HELP Topic - Heroes 5: System Requirements, Computer Problems and Troubleshooting ~
Thread: ~ HELP Topic - Heroes 5: System Requirements, Computer Problems and Troubleshooting ~ This thread is 49 pages long: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 30 40 49 · «PREV / NEXT»
LucJPatenaude
LucJPatenaude


Disgraceful
Known Hero
posted August 11, 2007 10:49 AM

PhoenixReborn attempting to help idiots.

Quote:
From Ubi forums (unofficial tech support)

Quote:
For people having problems with uninstalling/installing/reinstalling the game (when you press install the uninstall apears).
Go to start-> run.
Run regedit.
Go to this key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
Locate the key with the heroes information. (in the keys under this key it should be) If you can't located it go to that key and press f3 and type heroes. You should find it.
Delete the key you found.


hope this helps.


Nope, did not. It was a nice try though.


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Elvin
Elvin


Admirable
Omnipresent Hero
Alone in the Forest
posted August 11, 2007 08:33 PM

Wow that was helpful.
____________
Mind the gap between your mind and reality.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
madcat_lives
madcat_lives

Tavern Dweller
posted August 17, 2007 12:30 AM
Edited by madcat_lives at 00:30, 17 Aug 2007.

I have Aspire 5100 laptop. I had alot of game, I sold them .04 for each, When I load Homm5 its good until I start to play. The screen moves here and there like its too hot. Its very weak moving mouse.
I have AMD 64x2
up to 512mb ati radeon xpress 1100 hypermemory.
2gb ddr2
tl-52 (1.6 ghz,2x512kb L2 cache)
Screen is wxga acer cystalbrite lcd(16ms)
I can run sc and Bw. C&C 3 I thought would tax it more then homm5. I can't even install civ4, its doesn't like it. homm4 and 3 It won't install. Is it my graphy card or do I need to up date my driver?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
WarChild
WarChild

Tavern Dweller
posted August 22, 2007 06:41 PM

I just had a question....I recently bought HOMM5 for the Mac, and I just had a couple of questions....1. in the marketplace when exchanging one resource for another....what is the command/control to execute the exchange?  2.  The only Campaigns that come up are the Haven Campaign (isabel)?...any ideas?  3. Are the patches and maps for download at the site for us Mac Gamers too?

Thanks so much!

WC
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
guarder
guarder


Supreme Hero
posted August 22, 2007 07:01 PM

first question: it is the hand with gold in the menu with exit in.
Second: yes you must do the campaigns in order.
Third: don't know
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
WarChild
WarChild

Tavern Dweller
posted August 22, 2007 09:28 PM

Thanks so much!  I was wondering if they might put out a Mac User's Manual for HOMM5.  As it seems that some of the commands....(the whole right click issue =) ) are complely different.

JMHO.

WC
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
phoenixreborn
phoenixreborn


Promising
Legendary Hero
Unicorn
posted August 23, 2007 06:29 AM
Edited by phoenixreborn at 06:31, 23 Aug 2007.

Quote:
3. Are the patches and maps for download at the site for us Mac Gamers too?

Thanks so much!

WC


Here is a link to the patch:

http://forum.freeverse.com/viewtopic.php?id=1159

It's in the freeverse forum, you probably already have it.

Anyway, I don't have a mac, but from what I have read maps made with the 1.5 editor should work with the patched version of the game...so go to maps and look up some "heroes v original maps" to find out.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
madcat_lives
madcat_lives

Tavern Dweller
posted August 23, 2007 07:40 PM

vid card

The games looks nice until your watching the monk V the Demon. you get black spots @ times. I looked @ settings and I am very low settings for graph to work. I made the screen smaller and it did help some. When I play the game, Its very slow and black spots here and there. There now, now its not. I posted what computer I am using.\I know Aspire notebook people been saying are bad. We all know Vista has many holes in it.
   any help would be nice.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Zephyr
Zephyr


Hired Hero
Patiently waiting
posted August 23, 2007 08:14 PM
Edited by Zephyr at 20:35, 23 Aug 2007.

Quote:
I saw zephyr ask about this on a previous page but couldn't dig up anything to help in here...

my sylvan and academy towns have blacked out graphics...everything still functions, the towns just appear as black shapes - anyone know how to fix this?


I did find a fix for the sylvan town but I don't know if there is one for the academy. It was called Sylvan_town_clear_lights.pak.zip and there was also Sylvan_town_clear_lights_low_fog.pak.zip but I don't remember exactly what site I got them from. I found them thru a link in the HOMM5 forum at the Ubisoft site sometime ago. You might Google the file name and find them that way. Hope that helps.


Found the link. Scroll to the bottom of page for downloads.

http://deep.phpwebhosting.com/~paradox/forums/index.php?showtopic=188

____________
The one who seeks to pluck the stars will miss the jewels at his feet.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bombur
Bombur


Known Hero
posted August 24, 2007 09:43 AM
Edited by Bombur at 09:45, 24 Aug 2007.

Everty time I siege a necropolis castle or an enemy unit attacks my necrotown if i am playing with necro my game crashes.Has this happened to someone else?
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
WarChild
WarChild

Tavern Dweller
posted August 24, 2007 05:26 PM

All I know is that I finished "The Seige" part of the campaign and it keeps crashing to the desktop, not letting me go further on.  Anyone have any ideas how to fix this?  I did patch it so should i trash the whole thing and just reinstall the game without the patch?
Thanks so much.

WC
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LucJPatenaude
LucJPatenaude


Disgraceful
Known Hero
posted August 27, 2007 04:09 PM
Edited by alcibiades at 01:53, 16 Sep 2007.

Auto cease processing of an Application software/game

Moderator's Warning: The following review has been reported to contain imprecise and/or errornous information. The Moderator encourages you not to trust blindly in these guidelines and not to proceed without knowing how to do reverse proces.

The chances are: your PC is badly in need of updating(Drivers and RAM).

Updating to the latest Drivers of every component in your current-in-use  PC will, instantaneously upgrade your machine's configuration and will automatically enhance all components of it.

Upgrading the chipsets of the RAM cards will automatically stop memory leaks. 4-256Mb cards = 1Gb+ of total RAM also = very old and obsolete chipsets onto each card. Upgrading to mere(available in very affordable sets also)512Mb per card x 4 = 2Gb+ of total RAM also = acceptable level of commonly-in-use chipsets of today onto each card. Opting for Gb memory cards is to secure your PC's future of decent use(upper versions of Bios for this current-in-use Mainboard)and, will bring the total of RAM to 4Gb+ of memory. Taking in consideration that all these upgrades are in the 400Mhz FSB's DIMM slots and, are all at DDR-1 type also. DDR-2 DIMMs will accept FSB rates upto 800Mhz a card/DIMM slot. DDR-2 RAM cards' needs are extremely variable to the type of brand of the main processor's FSB capabilities.

Intel's upmost FSB of their fastest/newest Processor chip is now at 667Mhz/1,333Mhz(MT/s). And, AMD's intire production of processors' types are, still, at their minimum of 1,000Mhz/2,000(MT/s).

Out of this whole analysis, it is, now, up to you to decide what to do next.

It is, quite, recommended to copy and paste this post to any type of word processor application software and, make a print-out of it for future reference.


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Elvin
Elvin


Admirable
Omnipresent Hero
Alone in the Forest
posted August 27, 2007 05:55 PM

Oh and pay tribute to the mighty patenaudeluc for spending part of his time to bedazzle your pitiful existence
____________
Mind the gap between your mind and reality.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
guarder
guarder


Supreme Hero
posted August 28, 2007 04:24 PM

i tried cheat codes, but did not managed to start heroes5, i see the picture of Haven vs Necropolis and then returned to the screen with all programs(don't remember name), then i tried to shut off and turn the pc on again, and then it was some disc things that happend, but i can't play heroes, same happends that i discribed over. it can be something  with i exit to main menu from a battle and pressed the windows flag button, the screen was only black, but the title was there, i waited 5 min without something happend so i take the battery out of my pc.
I don't want to miss my savefiles(was in the last map of sylvan campaign)

Help
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | PP | Quote Reply | Link
phoenixreborn
phoenixreborn


Promising
Legendary Hero
Unicorn
posted August 29, 2007 01:15 AM

Quote:
Failed to intialize Direct3D9. What does this mean and how do i get the game to work?


Update your directx 9.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
kermit
kermit


Known Hero
Soul hunter
posted September 03, 2007 03:59 PM

Quote:
i tried cheat codes, but did not managed to start heroes5, i see the picture of Haven vs Necropolis and then returned to the screen with all programs(don't remember name), then i tried to shut off and turn the pc on again, and then it was some disc things that happend, but i can't play heroes, same happends that i discribed over. it can be something  with i exit to main menu from a battle and pressed the windows flag button, the screen was only black, but the title was there, i waited 5 min without something happend so i take the battery out of my pc.
I don't want to miss my savefiles(was in the last map of sylvan campaign)

Help


Try doing the following:
Go to My Documents and copy the My Games folder to some other location like your desktop.
Delete the My Games folder in My documents
Start heroes 5, check if it is working and exit the game
If it works copy back your My Games folder to My Documents.
The Game should be working and you should have your previous savefiles.

If you have to reinstall keep in mind that your profile is in My Documents\My Games.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LucJPatenaude
LucJPatenaude


Disgraceful
Known Hero
posted September 09, 2007 05:58 AM
Edited by alcibiades at 01:53, 16 Sep 2007.

The only proper Installation Procedures to be in use by everybody.

Moderator's Warning: The following review has been reported to contain imprecise and/or errornous information. The Moderator encourages you not to trust blindly in these guidelines and not to proceed without knowing how to do reverse proces.

To properly install the game on both WinXP and WinVista, you have to(only) insert the disk 1 in your CD Optical Drive and wait for its Autorun Menu to appear onto your Desktop window.

Click onto INSTALL. Follow the instructions on the screen as they will appear as the installation proceeds. It will skip disk 2 automatically as you will choose the language of English instead of Russian(other unofficial languages as well).

Upon installation of HoMM5 v.1.0, it will create into the Program Files' folder, the main folder of Ubisoft. Within the Ubisoft folder, the secondary main folder of Heroes of Might and Magic 5 is now being made for finally install all the sub-folders and the main app. extensions + DLL files necessary for constant reference to as the game is run prior installation of this game.

Once the installation is completed, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO RUN IT, YET!!

Go onto the Ubisoft.com's web-site and use the Download Patches' page. And, DOWNLOAD PATCH 1.4 ONLY!! Put her into the Bin sub-folder as to where the main core application program of Heroes_5 is. Double click onto that patch's file, it will now auto. launch itself and will auto. recognize where is the main core application program is(right next to itself).

Once the patching is done, go back to the main desktop and, click onto your Start Menu Icon, onto All Programs, Ubisoft and drag toward the right(via right arrow should be)until you see the link of 'Check for Updates' and click on it to initiate the broadband connectivity process to Nival's patching servers. It will pick up patch 1.41 and will auto. install it right-away. Do the same patch look-up and installation process for patch 1.5. DO NOT LAUNCH THE GAME YET!!

Do your Hard-drive maintenance processes as of right now(Clean Disk and Disk Defrag.)

Go onto Microsoft's Download Center Page of its web-site, type DirectX into its search pane. Download DirectX9-August2007-runtime file onto your Desktop and install it. For Vista users, cut and paste that file directly into the main folder of HoMM5 then, launch its installation process directly from that very folder.

Do your Hard-drive maintenance processes again(C-Disk and Disk Defrag.)

NOW, YOU CAN LAUNCH THE GAME AND INITIATE ANY SCENARIO OR ONLINE PLAY!!

I strongly suggest a copy and paste this installation guide into a word processor or PDF processor for future reference(a laminated print-out is outmost nicer).


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
dschingi
dschingi


Famous Hero
the guy with the dragon golem
posted September 09, 2007 09:44 PM
Edited by dschingi at 21:46, 09 Sep 2007.

...or you can put your cd in the drive and press about 4 buttons labeled 'install', 'next' or 'ok'

Many of the things you write are unnecessary or just wrong information.
You don't need to launch patch files from the bin directory, you can launch the game whenever you like, you don't have to defragment your hard drive and you don't need to download a newer directx version. If you wish to recommend those things, I would like to see some reasons behind those recommendations.
The sentence about "extensions + DLL files" doesn't make any sense at all.

and the post you made before in this thread is just ridiculous. With your talent of speaking about a lot of random information without any sense you might be better off becoming a politician.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Elvin
Elvin


Admirable
Omnipresent Hero
Alone in the Forest
posted September 09, 2007 11:10 PM

Hallelujah.
____________
Mind the gap between your mind and reality.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
LucJPatenaude
LucJPatenaude


Disgraceful
Known Hero
posted September 13, 2007 06:38 PM
Edited by alcibiades at 01:53, 16 Sep 2007.

Kermit's extensive non-sense.

Moderator's Warning: The following review has been reported to contain imprecise and/or errornous information. The Moderator encourages you not to trust blindly in these guidelines and not to proceed without knowing how to do reverse proces.

First of all, I never used those steps as Kermit's last post instructs.

Those steps belong to Win3.1 and Win95. Since Win98se, the All Programs Folder has been created for all non-in-O.S. in-installation default given games such as in the My games folder of within the user's profile's main folders. So, the today's installations always default to the Program Files' root Folder(directly onto the automatic C:/ prompt directory of your main Hard-Drive).

By diverting the default installation procedures towards the My Games folder of the current User of that PC will, screw up the proper installation procedures as they were meant to be and, the results are: The Game hesitates at load up and disturbs the initiator program of the main core program of HoMM5. You get rather the Blue Screen of Death or a Black Screen of Non Video Graphics(might get to hear the sound though).

It is the installation address of the registry that is totally misconfigured as a result of this tampering with the default installation pathways.

I know that all this sounds like non-sense to you. It is a machine understanding of why things must be exactly where they must be(timing and precision settings of functions to be executed in a proper manner/order). After all, a PC is a High Tech Machine of Electronics' ingenuity(Engineering Concepts' contraptions).

Did you know? That a PC has been made and designed for Office use only(as to 1981). An on-top of the office desk machine for combining a Word-Processor unit and a very advanced calculator unit. That was engineered mainly for extremely important professionals such as the Financial Accountant of a medium and large company. Today, the PC has the very important goal of providing all of the information needed by the user in a blink of an eye(Accounting Software of the most avanced kind). Later on, games were made by both combining words and numbers(Programming Language).

My PC is way more than just an ordinary computer. It is an Entertainment System. It can replace both the business computer and all there is in the Living Room. It has instant-on-boot internet connectivity, music-on-disk playability, news clips/videos updated every 15 minutes upto a single hour. Has playback software for playing all my DVD movies that I have. Play Arcade and common-to-PC strategy TBS games. Make documents and print them up via an all-in-one printer(Fax,Scan,Copy,Print from file or online instantly).

Need I say anything more about how a today's PC works/functions? Hope not.

Enjoy your single task of game playing, everyone!


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 49 pages long: 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 30 40 49 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0752 seconds