Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: H4ResourceEditor
Thread: H4ResourceEditor This thread is 4 pages long: 1 2 3 4 · «PREV / NEXT»
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted March 27, 2018 01:54 PM

Then they certainly seem to be linked! Thanks for the info

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted March 27, 2018 05:17 PM

I'm trying to decide what to work on next. Should I...

1) Explore the elevations format and info at the end of the file.

2) Go back to trying to figure out the image parsing issue.

3) Start working on being able to switch types, which will eventually lead to creating objects from scratch once the image data issue is solved.

4) Other. (add your own ideas)

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 27, 2018 08:30 PM

In my optic the image part is really somewhat of the foundation for some of the major features that is planned. So I'd say that next..

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted March 27, 2018 09:22 PM

Alrighty, image data it is!

I'll report back any findings or questions I come up with while I try to figure things out.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted March 29, 2018 04:16 AM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 00:18, 01 Apr 2018.

Hmm, so I un-commented out my code for reading in the image data, without actually making any changes (I made some very minor changes that shouldn't have affected anything), and I'm able to completely read in the objects I've been testing with.. Maybe I was trying to open objects that Namerutan hadn't finished working on yet?

Well, I'll go ahead and start working on getting the image data into the Java image constructs and continue testing other objects and see where it goes

Edit: I've figured out where Namerutan is getting the overall dimensions of the canvas. He's just finding the largest end x and y values of each image.

Now I'm working on getting all of the image offsets for pixel data, etc. setup so that I can start actually painting the images to display

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted April 02, 2018 01:24 PM

So I changed the entrance info for the Mirrored Cliff Nest 😊 It's was quite easy to fix both the entrance (something we struggled with for the Cliff Nest) and the flag position.
I already aired my wishes for positions display and flag display, still those would be really handy. I'm guessing you'd need another button for the SHOW FLAG option, but if you could display it on top of the image, that would be great. I'm not sure if the passability info would be required on that screen.

When you get to the part of changing/setting types, would it be possible to do drop boxes, that would list all major types, minor types and lastly subtypes?
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 02, 2018 06:43 PM

Karmakeld said:
So I changed the entrance info for the Mirrored Cliff Nest 😊 It's was quite easy to fix both the entrance (something we struggled with for the Cliff Nest) and the flag position.
I already aired my wishes for positions display and flag display, still those would be really handy. I'm guessing you'd need another button for the SHOW FLAG option, but if you could display it on top of the image, that would be great. I'm not sure if the passability info would be required on that screen.

When you get to the part of changing/setting types, would it be possible to do drop boxes, that would list all major types, minor types and lastly subtypes?


I'm thinking about having everything visible on screen: passability, entrance info, the image itself, and the flag.

I may have a combo box (drop down box) for which one you are currently editing, if any, but other ideas for how to toggle editing on and off are welcome.

You'll likely be able to drag and drop the flag wherever you want once I get to that.

As far as the drop down menus for major / minor / sub types, that is definitely the idea. Something that would be helpful here is to get a list of mappings between major and minor types, which means which minor types are available for a selected major type. Then I can code those rules so that when you switch major types, the correct selection of minor types is displayed.

And lastly, I had to remember how to use my overlay classes for displaying an image, but finally remembered what I needed to do and I am now displaying an ugly image of the adventure objects. Ugly, hopefully, because I need to get the alpha data applied now

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted April 05, 2018 08:53 PM

iliveinabox05 said:
Karmakeld said:

When you get to the part of changing/setting types, would it be possible to do drop boxes, that would list all major types, minor types and lastly subtypes?


I'm thinking about having everything visible on screen: passability, entrance info, the image itself, and the flag.

You'll likely be able to drag and drop the flag wherever you want once I get to that.



couldn't ask for more..

iliveinabox05 said:

I may have a combo box (drop down box) for which one you are currently editing, if any, but other ideas for how to toggle editing on and off are welcome.

As far as the drop down menus for major / minor / sub types, that is definitely the idea. Something that would be helpful here is to get a list of mappings between major and minor types, which means which minor types are available for a selected major type. Then I can code those rules so that when you switch major types, the correct selection of minor types is displayed.


I can help with that. Will post them here, just in case others should want to help out, it will make it easier to divide tasks.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 05, 2018 09:23 PM

Much appreciated, Michael! That will definitely save me some time that I can use in other places for this project.

Unfortunately I haven't had any time the last couple of days to push forward on image displaying, but I hope to have some time tonight through the weekend.

I've coded unpacking the alpha (transparency) data, but I still need to put it in a container that I can pull it from when I start coloring pixels. Not difficult, I just need a little time to sit down and get it done

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 07, 2018 06:18 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 19:57, 09 Apr 2018.

So it seems that the ugly picture was due to me not converting the pixel index to an unsigned byte.. After fixing that, we have the following:



Now I need to get the alpha data correctly parsed and applied!

Edit. Parsing the alpha but I need to get a better grasp on what to do with it.

I also realized that I can use the pixel index to determine whether a particular pixel should be fully transparent, since if the image has transparency then the first index of the color palette  is the transparent one (index == 0).

I'm doing some slight reorganizing of my overlay which actually draws the images on the screen so that I can set up drawing animations or non-animations, but things are coming along

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted April 11, 2018 02:45 PM

Nice to see a steady progress. When you reach a point when you'll be in need of those lists, let me know. I got a lot on my plate, so I haven't started that yet.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 11, 2018 08:35 PM

Karmakeld said:
Nice to see a steady progress. When you reach a point when you'll be in need of those lists, let me know. I got a lot on my plate, so I haven't started that yet.


Will do! Still plenty of stuff for me to work on as well before I get to that point, so no hurry there.

Currently doing a little reading on blending pixels so I can properly display the images and work on showing animations. Not really necessary for actual modding, so if I find it's taking me too long for the amount of progress I make, I will probably move onto other things, such as work to lineup the base image with the passability and entrance info and display the flag location.

I'll have to play around with that to determine the pixel width and height of the grid squares, as well as figure out exactly how it is determined where the grid is placed on the image (or vice versa).

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 16, 2018 08:19 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 17:41, 19 Apr 2018.

Just a small update: I've had to look elsewhere for displaying the animations because there seems to be a bit more work / optimization for me to do with my libraries before my code can be fast enough, so I've done some research for creating and displaying gifs.

I have the code for creating a gif in place and I'm in the process of actually using the code and then displaying the result.

Edit. A small additional update: I have successfully created and displayed an animated gif with the sawmill object. Now I need to actually pair up the shadow frames with the non shadow frames so that they are one single frame each, rather than just animating each frame in order from the object file, which was just part of the test to actually create an animated gif

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted April 24, 2018 01:02 PM
Edited by radmutant69 at 13:08, 24 Apr 2018.

iliveinabox05 said:
I'll have to play around with that to determine the pixel width and height of the grid squares, as well as figure out exactly how it is determined where the grid is placed on the image (or vice versa).


As far as I know the game simply counts the top of the passability grid's position from the image's top left corner (not the frame's but the whole image's top left corner.)





Also these are its coordinates in the object file:



These values in a lot of objects (but not in all of them) are apparently calculated somehow like this:



But I don't know its purpose at all

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Hired Hero
posted April 24, 2018 02:20 PM
Edited by Roman2211 at 14:21, 24 Apr 2018.

Hey, I'm know, that the Gold and Gems mines have a back pass opposite the yellow triangle, what is the reason?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 24, 2018 06:21 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 18:22, 24 Apr 2018.

radmutant69 said:
As far as I know the game simply counts the top of the passability grid's position from the image's top left corner (not the frame's but the whole image's top left corner.)

These values in a lot of objects (but not in all of them) are apparently calculated somehow like this:

But I don't know its purpose at all


Ah, so the fields that Namerutan has labeled as the x and y offset to draw the whole set of frames is what I should look at.

I'll need to play around with these values in the editor and see what the effect is. Thanks Radmutant!

Do you know, offhand, the pixel width and height of the grid squares?

Edit: Roman2211, I'm not quite sure what you're asking.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Hired Hero
posted April 24, 2018 08:53 PM

The hero must approach in "back" from the Gold mine, come up to the place behind, then he can visit to mine

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted April 24, 2018 10:22 PM
Edited by radmutant69 at 11:26, 25 Apr 2018.

Yeah, the same trick works with the Magic University and the Witch hut too. Probably because their passability grid is only 1 tile wide so you can just 'reach' the entrance I think.

It's also a possible cheat on a lot of maps BTW...

Edit: a grid square's size is apparently 64x31 pixel.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted April 27, 2018 01:58 PM
Edited by Karmakeld at 13:59, 27 Apr 2018.

Derrick, extract the Default object. This is a grid display, then you can view/count all the sides of the grid if needed. Or I can send it to ya. I often use this object when scaling objects to make sure sizes fit.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Adventuring Hero
posted April 27, 2018 06:36 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 03:17, 02 May 2018.

Thanks Radmutant!

Michael, when you say the Default object, do you mean it is literally named "default"? Radmutant gave me what I needed with the sizings, but it might still be useful for other things

I'm hoping to have some time this weekend to progress more!

Edit. Had a little time this weekend and worked on getting the gif resized to the viewing panel's dimensions and was successful.



Next I'm looking at displaying the flag's location on the image as well as resizing and moving the passability / entrance data to its correct location.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 4 pages long: 1 2 3 4 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0433 seconds