Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: H4ResourceEditor
Thread: H4ResourceEditor This thread is 12 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 · «PREV / NEXT»
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 04, 2019 10:16 PM

I don't have it, but I could help note it down. Just I'm rather busy atm
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted March 05, 2019 12:18 AM

Let me know if / when you have time. I could also potentially use the Resource Editor and add some code when opening h4r files to pull out major / minor type info from adventure objects.

I would just need to make sure I covered all the major / minor types.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 06, 2019 10:31 AM

Just to be sure we understand each other, when.you covered all you mean all the various types like, dwellings, creatures banks, quest huts etc. And then all types of dwellings?

I'm pretty sure I did cover all types in the text I send you. Can't we just convert those to hex code? The lengt should be easy to cover. A time schedule is hard to give, I'm already way behind with other tasks, but I can try to squeez it in within this week.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted March 06, 2019 05:15 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 04:05, 14 Mar 2019.

Karmakeld said:
Just to be sure we understand each other, when.you covered all you mean all the various types like, dwellings, creatures banks, quest huts etc. And then all types of dwellings?

I'm pretty sure I did cover all types in the text I send you. Can't we just convert those to hex code? The lengt should be easy to cover. A time schedule is hard to give, I'm already way behind with other tasks, but I can try to squeez it in within this week.


You did send me all of the major / minor types with which major type maps to which minor type, but those are only the names. I need the number associated with each of the names, since there is also a major / minor type code (number).

The major / minor type names in the .obj files (and .h4c files) are preceded by a code (before the number specifying how long the name is).

Edit. It looks like Namerutan posted the major type codes for the creature banks, so I have those at least. I'll post them here as an example.

MajorTypeCode for adv_object.creature bank:

0x0000 pirate_islands
0x0000 pirates_cove
0x0001 dragon_city
0x0002 keep
0x0003 griffin_nest
0x0004 graveyard
0x0005 pyramid
0x0006 ivory_tower
0x0007 dwarven_mines // red dwarf mines
0x0008 minotaurs_maze // labyrinth
0x0009 temple_of_light // temple
0x000A faerie_ring
0x000B bandit_camp
0x000C imp_cache
0x000D magic_lamp
0x000E shipwreck
0x000F ruins
0x0010 forest_glenn
0x0011 lair
0x0012 derelict_ship
0x0013 crypt
0x0014 harpy_nest

Edit 2. these might be the minor type codes. I'll have to verify.

Edit 3. These are the minor type codes (which should have been obvious to me). The major type code here would be for the creature bank type.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted March 09, 2019 02:29 AM

Also this list lacks the Equi creature banks. The full list looks like this:

0x0000 pirate_islands
0x0001 dragon_city
0x0002 keep
0x0003 griffin_nest
0x0004 graveyard
0x0005 pyramid
0x0006 ivory_tower
0x0007 dwarven_mines // red dwarf mines
0x0008 minotaurs_maze // labyrinth
0x0009 temple_of_light // temple
0x000A faerie_ring
0x000B bandit_camp
0x000C imp_cache
0x000D magic_lamp
0x000E shipwreck
0x000F ruins
0x0010 forest_glenn
0x0011 lair
0x0012 derelict_ship
0x0013 crypt
0x0014 harpy_nest
0x0015 spiral
0x0016 academy_of_magi
0x0017 elfven_treehouse (the 'elfven' isn't a typo!)
0x0018 fire_cavern
0x0019 gallery_of_science
0x001A hobbit_something
0x001B large_temple_of_sand
0x001C temple_of_earth
0x001D temple_of_air

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 10, 2019 09:45 PM

I'm just wondering why that code is needed?
I have succesfully changed types in your program by just renaming the major/minor text/name.. only tested a few though..
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted March 11, 2019 05:00 PM

Strange if it works without using the correct code. I would expect that to crash, but I guess it's pretty simple to test.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 11, 2019 06:04 PM

iliveinabox05 said:
Strange if it works without using the correct code. I would expect that to crash, but I guess it's pretty simple to test.


Well I have succesfully been using that method for quite a while, even before testing your program. I just hex edited/changed the type and it works. Only a few objects have required more than just a switch of (type) name. I believe I posted about this in the researching how to create new objects tread. But I'll follow up on it..
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted March 14, 2019 04:55 PM

I would release the update without getting the codes right, but I've noticed that some of the names in the file were missing letters and so don't match the major / minor types exactly, which needs to be fixed.

It's an easy fix, since I'm using a text file to hold all the major / minor type mapping (so anyone can actually fix it or add their own), but I basically need to open each of the types listed in the text file to make sure they are being properly set on the adventure object panel.

Since I'm doing this, I might as well just record the codes for each one.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted March 16, 2019 10:15 AM

Okay, so you got this covered yourself..?
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted March 17, 2019 04:10 AM

Yeah, I'll take care of it.

Also, for Roman, I ended up getting the same error you did when trying to open heroes.h4r, so the change I made to see if it helped Jonny actually messed it up for us. I've reverted that change and will let everyone know when an update is available.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted May 02, 2019 04:47 AM

Updated version of the H4 Resource Editor is available in the OP. Should have gotten this out a long time ago, but got a little busy. It seems that some major type names can have a different major type number associated with them, and since Michael mentioned that he didn't need to update the number, I just left that part out when changing major / minor types.

Let me know what works / doesn't work. I didn't do a lot of testing, so I'll try to stay on top of any issues y'all find.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted May 03, 2019 07:55 PM

I'll try out some different types when I have the time and report back.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 02:54 AM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 02:55, 07 May 2019.

I think next I'm going to take a look at changing the footprint size.

What are some thoughts about the behavior when, say, increasing the width or height? Should I keep the current passability, and then anything new starts out as passable or unpassable? Should I just reset the entire footprint to passable or unpassable?

Same question for the interactivity mask, should I leave the old portion as is and add the new interactivity with a default of not interactive?

Edit. Now I just have to relearn the passability and interactivity stuff

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 04:49 PM

In my opinion you should keep the passability and the entrances either to let us see what we are going to changing. Also, the flag adjusting seems to not working in the latest version. It doesn't update no matter what I do.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 05:10 PM

Hmm, does the white dot on the image move at all? Which particular object are you trying to move the flag on?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 07:29 PM

I tried to make a bunch of shipyards. The white spot moves but I can't save the changes for some reason. Or more precisely, I can save but the flag remains at its original place when I add the objects to the map editor.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 08:04 PM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 20:36, 07 May 2019.

Ah, are you clicking the "update" button? There is some ambiguity in there that I haven't fixed yet. I need to remove the "update" button and move the code that handles when it is clicked into the block that gets called when you save the file.

So, click the "update" button first, then save the new object and let me know if the flag still doesn't move.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 10:28 PM

Well I clicked on it. I know I have to do that but now this doesn't work. Of course it's not a real problem for me though since I have the previous version(s) too, so I can fix my objects with those easily.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Known Hero
posted May 07, 2019 11:07 PM

Okay, I'll take a look at it when I get home and see what the problem is.

If you have the log file still, could you upload it somewhere for me, please?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 12 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0430 seconds