Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
New Server | HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info forum | HOMM4: info forum | HOMM5: info forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: Nimostar's Releases [WITH TOTAL CONVERSION "Greatest Mod"]
Thread: Nimostar's Releases [WITH TOTAL CONVERSION "Greatest Mod"] This thread is 11 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 · «PREV / NEXT»
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 22, 2016 08:42 PM

Correction.In thread (Great&Terrible mod 1īst open beta) on 2īnd page,also I agree that a red monster idea is great for new type of creature that heroes may challenge on battle map.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 22, 2016 08:49 PM

Perhaps that red monster should be called a bigfoot? I think it has some similarity,but you decide.I think it matches great.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted September 22, 2016 09:41 PM
Edited by Karmakeld at 20:17, 01 Oct 2016.

I just wanted to add that iLiVeInAbOx05's MG tool has a feature that allow you to paint the void terrain as a regular terrain type, thus meaning you can place objects like normally, without having to use the copy/paste method. Find it here: H4MG
Overall great work Nimostar, although I do recommend a look at the 'old' CH script library/scripting guides, as some of what you've posted could've been found there. Like how to make a level 0 hero with no skills or pictures of maps including the void terrain.
this is like +10 years old: Scripting Guides
About the portraits, I await your PM. I have time this weekend to work on them.
I'm also very excited about your new hero models. I know Baronus said you can make a hero take the looks of a creature model, but adding new ones would be great. I hope you'll share a tutorial with us.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted September 23, 2016 04:55 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 17:15, 23 Sep 2016.

Yes, yes, I get some of your points, Karmakeld. I shoudn't and certainly don't think I invented everything!
(although in my defense, I didn't know about much of that., I have played H4 offline since forever and only recently connected to the community. I have made dozens of now lost H3 and H4 highly detailed maps and posted none!)

Thank you for the H4MG topic, I hope it works.
I have had to work extra in everything because many edit programs don't work for me. I build my files with Resedit for example (slow, buggy and can't add .bmp or screen files), because MH4_96 doesn't work for me :/

Where are the CH library/scripting guides?
I always want to get new sources. I have found remarkably little about modding Heroes 4 and much of it is incomplete and in polish sites.

Equilibris was inactive until recently for over 10 years. Although people should have known how to mod, mine is the only major mod since Equi. I would like that not to be that way.
In any case, i must recognize I used some of their exe code. It was necessary to make the mod "independent" and not overwrite.

I am writing the answer to your PM now.

________________________________________________

Baronus:
You must copy the .df2 animations from attack and give them a different name (or any other set of animations, such as "fiddle" or even "stand" "wait"), and then yes, you can make them spell anims (because apparently you can't use the same .df2 anim name for two different actions). However the bad part is this takes space and makes the file bigger.
However, I have used this system to create more spellcasting creatures. It can be used too for the heroes, but you have to do it twice, since they also need ranged animation.
Some of those changed creatures now with spellcast anims and spells in Greatest Mod are:
- Mermaid
- Bandit (Now Ninja)
- Earth Elemental
- Unicorn
- Skeleton Dragon
- Berseker (Now Shaman)
And some others...

Probably I will try to write a tutorial later on how to edit the .spr files and change heroes and creatures.
However, because I want to do it well so anyone can understand, it may take a time.
________________________________________________

nostradamus, what do you mean?
I have read the thread and it speaks of taking demon creatures out of Necropolis, to give them only authentically death-aligned creatures.

Old and obsolete "mixed" lineup, AKA band of misfits...

This change has already been done in Greatest Mod, and is released on this version.
The necropolis creatures are as follows:



Dark Armor Side:
- Zombie (1+)
- Gargoyle (2-)
- Black Guard (3)
- Dark Knight (4+)

Undying Side:
- Skeleton (1-)
- Medusa (2)
- Vampire (3+)
- Bone Dragon (4)

Some creature ability changes:
* All Zombies rise from the dead automatically after stack dies (once per combat)
* Gargoyles now teleport, are Mechanical instead of Elemental, have Stealth.
* Medusas have Fear Attack
* Black Guards have Stealth, and No Retaliation.
* Vampires lose No Retaliation, but gain Hypnotize instead.
* Bone Dragon now spellcaster (Animate Dead, limited Hand of Death, Aura of Fear) and gives Random curses on attack (loses fear attack)
* Dark Knight not undead, now more spells (anti-life), no longer regenerates, has Mana Leech and Binds, plus a mystery ability.

Notes:
Creatures are still being rebalanced. Maybe skeletons will be a bit stronger or more numerous next release, since now they only deal 1-2 damage. On the other side, you can still get a lot of them with necromancy.
Probably the new "Raise Zombie" spell will ba changed because it recharges Zombies rising-again ability. It is too OP.


Further Notes: If someone with programming can help me, I would like to take Ghosts out of Necromancy, as they are now an Order (Shipwreck) level 1 creature under the name of "Ghost sailors" - replace them by Gargoyles as default. Equi members could do it...
I have done many different things than them and some more advanced, but I don't have ALL the knowledge.


As for other requests, such as giving all undead creatures unlimited retaliation, insubstantial, etc. my comments would be these:
- It is better on a case-per-case basis. Obviously Zombies aren't Insubstantial, are they?
- I would like to use more abilities but the game limits 4 per creature. (these is a fifth "slot" on the graphics sometimes, but haven't been able to figure it with code)
- Some creatures have less than 4 and because of file .exe structure this cannot be easily changed. Equi could add some abilities but this requires "jumps" back and forth to before-empty areas. The jumps are dangerous code and need complex Hexadecimal calculations. My attempts at changing this (for example, four abilities for Minotaurs instead of just one) have been unsucessful. I have been limited to "adding" more abilities by taking away useless ones (for example, Spellcaster, Toughness and Magic Resistance abilities have no actual effects. You can take out the "ability" and the effect would still be there).
(if someone wants to help and can do the exe-jumps on assembly code, they are welcome to contact to add more abilities to creatures)

________________________________
TO ALL:


I hope my answers were satisfactory enough.

Keep writing and clarifying anything you think, want, can do, etc.!

Have you tried the mod?
If you have any balance gripe or bug report, I will look into it.
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted September 23, 2016 07:35 PM
Edited by Baronus at 08:20, 24 Sep 2016.

Nostradamus! Download Mh4096 + txtedit from here unpack updates edit txt tables as you want and pack:
http://heroescommunity.com/viewthread.php3?TID=39499
Nimo whats your problem with Mh4096? I can write step by step.
Jumping? I can help but what is your problem. Link to unit or to numbers of ability?
You must download hiev32 hdeditor. Is the best in jumping.
Editing necromancy? Now im writing.
http://heroescommunity.com/viewthread.php3?TID=37350&pagenumber=1

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 23, 2016 08:41 PM

Nimo I believe I want or expect too much,I wanted or wished that creatures should be a little changed in color or size on battle map when fighting,I mentioned giant which is Titan but bigger and no archer,then genie I prefer effreti but blue in color,then steel or diamond golem would be in fact gold golem, but remodeled,then I thought about ghosts from homm II and their special ability or something similar,but  Baronus said thatīs impossible,I wrote that in your thread(Great&Terrible open beta mod) on page 2.

Baranos I found and downloaded those tools but I still must learn how to use them ,thanks.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted September 23, 2016 11:40 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 23:42, 23 Sep 2016.

Nostradamus:

Sadly that sophistication is unknown. I can only work with existing anims. So far, nobody has been able to make .df2 animations like the ones in H4. It must be possible but it hasn't been cracked.

I too would like such changes, as everyone.
(For one, I would like big bad Wolves and not these small toy dogs we got! And also a Tier 4 intimidating Genie!)
In H3 it is possible and WoG did such graphic changes.
But in H4, not so much.

The alternatives are as follow:
- Decipher what is .df2 format actually, or how it works.
- Get help from original HOMM 4 developers (if they still live : P )
- Or...
Create a full working game clone of Heroes 4 in open-source, fully editable, eventually be able to emulate any Heroes game and totally moddable. There are projects like OpenRA that did it for more complex (engine-wise) RTS games such as Red Alert and other Command&Conquers. So, should people in the community be interested enough, it woudn't be totally impossible. No such plans in the works right now though, and it far exceeds my abilities.

____________________________________

Baronus:

Although I wouled welcome a tutorial, I have already tried everything in my power and it simply doesn't work even when instructions used as intended. It just creates a 1kb file with no other files inside. I fear it is because of my processor, compatibility of PC or something (my PC is old).

About adding the ability number and doing jumps: I already have hiew32 and used it for many things in Greatest Mod (I can't remember them all). However the difficulties are: -Calculating the jumps (there seems to be no easy way to do this, I do it basically by hand because hex numbers aren't recognized in assembly as in calculators... negative numbers are "signed integers" which means you have to put a prefix and blah blah) -Using the correct jump commands (even Equilibris jumps don't seem completely correct on this on my eyes) -Not missing the mark... and -Ensuring the "white" areas you overwrite aren't actually some "empty memory" cache that the game needs for some data ingame. (actually I know part of the .exe is just the high-res icons I loaded into it, so if I would know and it worked, I would overwrite data there : P) Also you can't just change the location of the jumps without recalculating everything again.
So, when I tried my minotaur jump for four abilities after over an hour of editing and researching, game crashed on start. Not easy to know which of the possible error did it so I just gave up, and not easy to fix it either with all the locations and numbers to keep track of. Extra abilities aren't worth frying my nerves : P - so if someone better at this can add the needed jumps for additional abilities to my .exe directly... I would welcome that help.
(assembly editing is inhumane and that is why I would really like an open source clone, xd)

I will check out the stuff about editing necromancy!
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted September 24, 2016 08:34 AM

Mh4096
You must do COMPLETE list of files named equi. Better way is extraxt all. Mh4096 build COMPLETE list for you. Then you open "build new file" and click the equi! Thats all.
Jumping.
1. First you must free sign are as in tutorial. It must be signed END of the area.
2. Link from unit to new area.
3. Nopping old area 90909090
3. Link from new area TO PLACE WITH 4 ABILITIES! Its relative movement. You must try corecct, try correct as you find. Hiew32 must write you target after saving. If its wrong you see it! Its always the same adress 4 abilities. You can see it in exe.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted September 24, 2016 03:20 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 16:53, 24 Sep 2016.

I did the list thing before. It still builds nothing. I have all the names of the files, and the files, all in the same folder, and click the sompile/pack button. Still I only get an empty .h4r

As for the second:_ Yes, I know the four creature abilities adress. That is not the problem,. the problem is that jmpz (or whatever) command... and that it always messes up my .exe, even if I place it on the decode Hiew view. Since it needs a "relative" distance to jump forth and back, and so on.

A shame, because I would really like to add some obvious abilities such as that Mermaids and Sea Monster are better at sea, for example...

_____________________________

On easier quest for help:

1- Does anyone know how to edit creatures in Creature Portal?
I enabled an anim which New World Computer had misnamed and now Creature Portal has an animation, but I still don't find the code in the .exe (nor anywhere else!)

2- Can anyone know how to enable Town Portal in battle again? Equilibris disabled it, but changing the spell table did nothing to bring it back. Still says "This spell cannot be cast in combat"
(it is a shame, because it had many tactical capabilities and a very cool anim too!)

3- How to change building prerequisites? This bugs me a lot, as I have changed what creatures are produced by each dwelling, the costs, etc., but the prerequisites remain as original, and that often doesn't fit and or is not balanced for towns.
_____________________________

PS: Balance Testing
Anyone wants to play multiplayer, with me or eachother?
I would like to test further the balance of creatures or factions.

I did the balancing intuitively and with some testing, but these are my worries, which may or may not be true:
- The inferno faction may be OP (they don't have magic, but many caster creatures unlike Stronghold barbarians)
- Titans are suppossed to be strong and expensive (and as bersekers you can't control them), however it may be too much...
- Are the Slimes (Venom Spawn) too strong compared to Harpy alternative?

As well as many other things.
You may try anything and give me your impressions.
For creature testing, the map "creature arrangement" on "classmaps" included in the mod may be good.

____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 24, 2016 03:25 PM

Nimo,I thank you for answering.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 24, 2016 10:09 PM

Nimo,unfortunately I canīt help you in your request with portals and I hadnīt yet played in multiplayer,I only made some interesting map with campaign editor for 3.55 Equilibris where new adventure objects are like quest huts,walls,egyptian objects,castle towers,banks...,it was more interesting and more adventure in gameplay.
_____________________________


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted September 25, 2016 12:50 AM

I would like to clarify, that I didn't mean to 'trash' you for not being the first to discover stuff like how to do the void terrain, what I meant was perhaps you could find use in those tips and tricks instead of having to figure it out by yourself, thus saving you some time Your (re)posts might be worth it, to newcomers though, who might not be aware of those articles, just wanted to point out they existed.
I'll post some links tomorrow, although you should see one in my former post in your other tread.
About Town Portal spell, I believe I read somewhere that you can check/uncheck the spells somehow for adventure map or combat only. Not sure where this is done, but I believe Dalai from the Equilibris team said that was how it was changed. I'll try to search CH for it tomorrow, if I remember it.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted September 25, 2016 04:51 AM

I have checked/unchecked in the spell table, but it still doesn't work as it did before equi. They may have done that in some place of the exe, not the spell table :/ - and navigating the exe is notoriously hard. I have been in every place that the ascii mentions "town_portal" and not found the difference in the matter between equi and winds of war.

What links?

Yes, yes, I know.
I still get to be the first in editing sprite files, changing creature, hero and town building anims and in making a fully different game mod... as far as I am aware : P

_____________________________

Nostradamus:

Hm... maybe in next release I will give a version joinable with 3.55 alpha just as this version is joinable with equi 3.51
Would you like that feature?
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 25, 2016 05:39 PM

Indeed,Nimo.I very much prefer this new objects like quest huts,banks,could they be perhaps new home(dwelling) for your new creatures like red monster-bigfoot and other,I would like that,thank you in advance,but donīrush,you have all the time in the world for everything.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Promising
Famous Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted September 25, 2016 10:14 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 22:15, 25 Sep 2016.

Someday maybe that's possible, with MH4_096 if I ever get it to work, but I would have to ask permission to use their graphics I guess (Unless they stole them too : P)

Yes, you should be patient for any of that...
For now, I will focus on getting the creature-heroes working.
That would also be good for some of your wishes, for example: You could have a customized mummy hero to fight "one on one" with your heroes (I don't remember if it was you who asked for creatures with "5000 hit points" : P)

Maybe I will open a poll to see which hero-creatures people would prefer released first...
____________
CLICK on the image to discover H4 Greatest Mod!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Baronus
Baronus


Supreme Hero
posted September 26, 2016 08:45 AM

I wrote how to edit creature portal:
http://heroescommunity.com/viewthread.php3?TID=37350&pagenumber=2
But its cheat. AI cant use it.
I dont understant. Costs of buildins are in txt tables. Units recrutations you can change in exe file.
Mh4 MUST HAVE CLEAN HIV FILE! If you destroyed it using Resedit Mh4 cant do it.
Exctract all from original updates.h4r file and pack all using equi to train.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted September 26, 2016 09:45 PM

Yes,I wanted that creatures would be more tougher(zombie,mummy,giant-titan,gold golem..)comparing to combat heroes,but when they are max level experience with all artifacts and powerups,they should be equal with creatures and more competitive opponent,I already read your tutorial and great idea with this creature heroes,I voted already.I thank you,Nimo for taking your effort and all this time to do this just for us and yourself to be able to play and having fun with all possible changes that homm iv tools can give or allow us to modify original game,thank you.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Famous Hero
posted October 06, 2016 08:38 PM
Edited by Karmakeld at 20:45, 06 Oct 2016.

Could you post a tutorial, if you found a way to make fx. a custom made Mummy hero (like Nostradamus suggest) stronger, but just that hero, not Mummies or heroes in general. I also believe Equilibris added a feature on Champion difficulty, putting the effect of Potion of Immortality on all AI heroes. Any idea of how to add specific spells to specific heroes or if it will automatically affect all heroes, if added.
Oh and my anti virus goes berserk when I try to download your greatest mod.. Can anyone confirm it's 100% safe??

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted October 07, 2016 08:49 PM

When opening executable or untrusty files set in antivirus the option "current protection of data system in (menu protection of computer)"or "protection on the net",then it could open that file.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
nostradamus
nostradamus


Adventuring Hero
posted October 07, 2016 08:56 PM

You are right Karmakeld,I couldnt open also,it says that its a virus,I dont know what to do,I unchecked a few options with nod anti virus but to no avail.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 11 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.1174 seconds