Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info mods forum | HOMM4: info CTG forum | HOMM5: info mods forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited
Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited This thread is 15 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 · «PREV / NEXT»
vulcancolak
vulcancolak


Famous Hero
posted October 22, 2021 05:22 AM

NimoStar said:
I discovered something midly interesting aboput the Staff of Mayhem

It says

"All Chaos direct damage spell do 50% more damage"

But in truth, I could check it didn't affect the Fireball spell. (of all things...)

So, I concluded that instead of looking at the table like many other skills and upgrades, the thing they did with this is to enumerate the upgraded spells manually.

Sure enough, in my HEROES 4 ULTIMATE mod, I discovered the spell was upgrading Implosion for example, even though it is now in Death.

***

The spells upgraded I could find are:

- Sparks
- Magic Arrow
- Fire Aura
- Fire Bolt
- Fire Ring
(But NOT Fireball)
- Implosion
- Inferno
- Disintegrate
- Chain Lightning

These continue being upgraded, no matter if reskinned and changed school

***

Why is this midly interesting? Well, one could find the list of upgraded spells that must be somewhere in the .exe

From there, changing one hex code to another can change which spell gets the 50% bonus

By choosing different sets of spells to upgrade, we may "reskin" the rod to fullfill different ingame roles in mods.

For example: "All Animate Dead spells raise 50% more creatures"

Will keep researching stuff...

UPDATE NOTE:
Although the Staff of Summoning looks from the table, I strongly suspect the Staff of Death has preestablished spells like the Staff of Mayhem. New Spells moved towards the Death school aren't counted for upgrading.


As i know spells damage values already set in somewhere. Because in my mod i was buffed many chaos spells and none of their damage increases 50% with staff of mayhem.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted October 24, 2021 11:56 PM

I believe the 50% is just 50% of base unmodified value.

Usually you will have other bonus sources like Pyromancy and SOrcery.

Bonuses are only additiive, not multiplicative.


So Master. Pyromancy, Expert Sorcery + Staff =

100% (base damage) + 80% (Pyromancy) + 60% (Sorcery) + 50% (Staff) = 290% base damage

While without staff it is

240% base damage

As you can see, these artifact bonuses are much weaker than they seem, in damage in special (since other types of spells such as Summoning or Healing don't have a Sorcery skill as damage)


____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted January 25, 2022 07:11 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 19:12, 25 Jan 2022.

Do we have any .exe adress for the Undead Transformer or can someone tell it?

I know equilibris 3.6 team know it because they changed for it to makje Megadragons into Bone dragons too (which I had checked normally doesn't happen)

I wanted for it to make Zombies instead of Skeletons.
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Adventuring Hero
posted March 20, 2022 10:01 AM
Edited by Roman2211 at 10:04, 20 Mar 2022.

Very interesting bug. The "Nightmare" have a "fire backlight" in the game resources "actor_sequence". But it is not displaying in combats!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted March 20, 2022 02:55 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 15:03, 20 Mar 2022.

If you mean the orange light, it is really displayed, it's just very subtle:



Since the converter for objects does not perfectly translate partial transparency, this vbecomes much more noticeable when the nightmare is a map object since alpha becomes 100%

***

PS: Roman, since you are here and you are Equi, could you tell what to edit in Rally Flag? And maybe other movement objects such as Stables.

Regular H4 has problems with these objects:

- Unlike H3, H4 stables map object only gives +5 movement for the day. Thisis underwhelming and less than the +7 of just drink for horses...

- H4 rally flag is completely useless. It gives +1 movement, but moving into it uses a minimum of -1 movement, making it a waste of time.

If I could just change the single byte that regulaters this, at least I could make Rally Flag into +4/+5 movement and Stables into +8 movement (so they are at least better than the drinking thing, which is a much smaller and less impressive map object)
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Roman2211
Roman2211


Adventuring Hero
posted March 20, 2022 03:52 PM

But Stable is active for 7 days, Rally Flag for 28 days!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted March 20, 2022 03:53 PM
Edited by karmakeld at 15:55, 20 Mar 2022.

Nimo could you check the Rally Flag again, I recall it gives +1 day pr day for a 7 day period.
Edit: or longer according to Roman - thx.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted March 20, 2022 05:03 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 17:04, 20 Mar 2022.

I am sorry that it is like this, but you are wrong.



Notice how it only says "change your steed for a new one". Not for the week. Just for the moment.

AND you can just visit next day again. There is no message like "can't help you" as in H3.

But not only that, the Ultimate tests show decisively that you are back to normal movement the day after.

PS: Nevermind, I was wrong. It does lasts for 7 days so this is only a string description failure, not a mechanical failure. The string should say something.

I did test if it worked before,but I was using an Ultimate druid... and the druid generated some Leprechauns or Wolves (with the modded starting Summoning) that slowed him down the day after. Such a fail, lol
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted March 20, 2022 05:50 PM
Edited by karmakeld at 17:54, 20 Mar 2022.

NimoStar said:

PS: Nevermind, I was wrong. It does lasts for 7 days so this is only a string description failure, not a mechanical failure. The string should say something.

I did test if it worked before,but I was using an Ultimate druid... and the druid generated some Leprechauns or Wolves (with the modded starting Summoning) that slowed him down the day after. Such a fail, lol


I'm having this printed on a poster. Will be hanging on my wall from now on...

..also I am sorry it is like this, but you were indeed wrong, but nice of you to admit it
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted March 20, 2022 06:51 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 19:48, 20 Mar 2022.

I always admit when I was wrong. If it isn't often, it's because i'm not often wrong , but nice of you to make me aposter

PS I still remember many years ago when I came to the forum and nearly everybody told me H4 "coudn't be modded at all" and to "not even try". We have gone along way...
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted June 17, 2022 06:04 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 18:50, 17 Jun 2022.

I was wondering if H4 has any unused "artifact locations" specifications which aren't actually used by the table.

Lo and behold! this is what I found:



Apparently "right ring" and "right ring" are possible, as well as misc_1 through misc_4

This would mean that there is a single misc slot where these artifacts could go, allowing to have them use a misc slot but not to stack (as you could put just one at the time of the same type in misc_2, for example).

"divine" and "fragment" are not locations but rarity levels; they were used in unused artifacts. It may be possible to put these in used artifacts, and this would allow for them to never appear in "random" selections by level (since random only uses Item, Treasure, Minor, Major, Relic...)

There is more testing needed, but I will indeed test the "right ring", "left ring" and "item_1" now.

Sadly there is no "anywhere" location or "any hand", only more restricted ones, not more "freed" ones. But well I tried.

CONFIRMED IT WORKS

Just according to plan. Both Rings (right/left) and Misc (1-4) work as specified.


There is no "invisible slot", I'm just dragging it - To show that only misc_1 lights up as possible.

And can be used immediately by any mod. I know I will.

NimoStar, you are a genius
Where's my QP?

Another thing... perhaps the "backpack" specification means that artifacts with this mode in the backpack already work from there, hmm? Originally this is only used in the grail to show it shoudn't be equipped as it does nothing, but what about artifacts that already do something? Well, I confirmed they do nothing in backpack as well. hoho, You can't win them all

What's next? Maybe fully functional new Divine artifacts?
Who knows?

____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted June 19, 2022 08:31 PM

NimoStar said:
...
"divine" and "fragment" are not locations but rarity levels; they were used in unused artifacts. It may be possible to put these in used artifacts, and this would allow for them to never appear in "random" selections by level (since random only uses Item, Treasure, Minor, Major, Relic...)


Just wondering, but if the intention is to just prevent the "divine" and "fragment" artifacts from appearing among random artifacts, why not just prevent their availability in the map properties? If you prevent them as a standard, its kinda like Equi preventing Town Gate from being used during combat, without giving you the choice to ban it or not.
If those two rarity levels were activated, they'd have to go with certain artifacts, and you could just set those to not be available in your map.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted June 20, 2022 04:30 AM
Edited by NimoStar at 06:08, 22 Jun 2022.

karmakeld said:
Just wondering, but if the intention is to just prevent the "divine" and "fragment" artifacts from appearing among random artifacts, why not just prevent their availability in the map properties? If you prevent them as a standard, its kinda like Equi preventing Town Gate from being used during combat, without giving you the choice to ban it or not.
If those two rarity levels were activated, they'd have to go with certain artifacts, and you could just set those to not be available in your map.


That's a fair enough point I guess. I did not use Divine and Fragment rarity yet. I just used the new slots. For example the Misc_1 for something I want in misc, but can't/I don't want that is can be stacked.

I did not like that Equi disabled combat use of Town Powrtal through hex, instead of just disabling that use in the table, and that it cannot be turned back on by any known means within Equi.

On the other hand the preciously unused rarities may *still* be used somehow, so its not completely useless. Someone could open the table about artifacts given by Creature Banks, for example.

It is not completely impossible that you could add columns for Divine and Fragment artifact there, and make them actually work. I will not test this as I am time-strapped, but it is an idea for one way these rarities could be useful.

This could be made so that you can only get artifacts set to Divine (for example, if you change Sword of the Gods in table) from very powerful custom creature banks.
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
szaman
szaman


Known Hero
posted June 21, 2022 02:50 AM

I decided to learn a bit about modding in H4. Learned already how to swap units with the same alliance.

But how swap units with different alliance. I Want to kick nomads from the stronghold and add orcs from Chaos.

Same thing in Chaos also want kick hydras and add sea monster there.

Also.. if there a possibility to change stats of the creatures? I want to make my orc a bit stronger (add more HP and defence points and replace the half range skill with double attack).


 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted June 21, 2022 05:23 AM

all this is already covered if you read...

Stats: Change in creatures.table.h4r

Faction: Change faction in table then just change the hex of one creature to another in exe, this is covered on more detail in another recent topic.

____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
szaman
szaman


Known Hero
posted June 22, 2022 05:42 PM
Edited by szaman at 18:06, 22 Jun 2022.

My friend has taught me, how to use and navigate through Hex-edit, and i manage to do some changes, like...

-Swap Ork<--->Beholder
-Swap Hydra<-->Sea Monster
-Kick Nomad to neutral and add ork at his place.

Add new Skills (swap) to:
Halfling - Area Attack
Issues:
Well despite changing skill slayer to area attack, the new skill dosen't work. But It is visible in the game. The AI can use this skill but will do no damage (that is, they are not hitting anything).

Is this kind of bug? and is there a way to fix it?

Also... I have problems to find the offset of the Orc and Gnasher. Basically they offsets are:
.654B1A -- Orc
.654CC6 -- Gnashar

Following Baronus advice...

.654B1A -- Orc
-400000
 254B1A

But when i type it in hex-edit i don't see any bytes the represents ork, the same thing with gnasher.


Im editing the Equilibris exe. Maybe they have a different offset?

I would appreciate if someone could you provide with the correct offsets of the orc and gnashar.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted June 22, 2022 06:28 PM
Edited by baronus at 18:31, 22 Jun 2022.

baronus

Area attack is probably the same as unit magic book. You can ad but you can use. Because in other part of exe is definied area of this attack. So probably now is 0. But we have some units with area attack so its enough.

Orc in equi as you see is 90909090 it means has removed by ,jump to' command. Because orc has new skill.
As I remember its about 000002ff area in equi.
By jump command you can ad all 4 skills to each unit.
Use hiev32 its traditional disasembler for H4 :+)))

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
szaman
szaman


Known Hero
posted June 22, 2022 07:14 PM

baronus said:
Area attack is probably the same as unit magic book. You can ad but you can use. Because in other part of exe is definied area of this attack. So probably now is 0. But we have some units with area attack so its enough.

Orc in equi as you see is 90909090 it means has removed by ,jump to' command. Because orc has new skill.
As I remember its about 000002ff area in equi.
By jump command you can ad all 4 skills to each unit.
Use hiev32 its traditional disasembler for H4 :+)))


The "Jump to command" doesn't tell me anything, im not a programmer so how exactly i have to find the orc and Frenzied Gnasher offset then?

ow... the Hiev32 in not free i have to pay it to have full accession, otherwise i can only look, nothing more.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted June 22, 2022 07:44 PM
Edited by baronus at 19:49, 22 Jun 2022.

baronus

Dont copy full post! If you give answers!
I wrote you 2ff adress. I know jump to is harder to learn but in hiew32 its good visible.
Free hiew32 can edit. I was made my mod using hiew. Try.

Jmp - you see adress when is jumped content eg. orc.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted June 22, 2022 11:46 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 23:47, 22 Jun 2022.

Area attack is hardcoded to some creatures, adding the ability isn't enough.

We dn't know where the hardcoded section is, nobody has managed to change this AFAIK.

Orc abilities have another offset because Equilibris added Stun to them by jumping their ability list to another location (since they didn't have enough space to add another ability there without removing one of the existing ones).
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 15 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0895 seconds