Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info mods forum | HOMM4: info CTG forum | HOMM5: info mods forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited
Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited This thread is 15 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 · «PREV / NEXT»
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted June 28, 2022 02:05 PM

After 1-2 months learnig we can do not a lot of than we can do by hexediting! To be skilled programmer we must 1-2 years of learning and training. Second question after c++ i reverse enginering to find adresses. All of it needs time. Only to one game its no sense if we have completly nothing with programming in our life. Other jobs are needed too! But its oftopic! All who feels he wants to be programmer can do it! As I see we have now some skilled modders! They will make platforms for each others! And its very good news!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
AlexSpl
AlexSpl


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted June 28, 2022 02:37 PM
Edited by AlexSpl at 14:39, 28 Jun 2022.

You can always apply your hex-patches with a plugin:

// fix Mass Cancellation to not destroy your own illusions
_PI->WriteHexPatch(0x5B3373, (PCHAR)"54 01");
_PI->WriteHexPatch(0x5B338C, (PCHAR)"3B 01");


This means "write 54 01 at 5B3373, write 3B 01 at 5B338C". Of course, there is a difference between image addresses and disk addresses, but, I'm sure you know it.

Now you see that, at least, it's more convenient to manage your binary patches with plugins than to go to each of the addresses and rewrite your patches manually.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted June 29, 2022 08:25 PM

H4Zer0 said:
Hi,

I wanted to make a new thread about adding new creatures, spells etc. but it seems I first need to post something before I'm allowed to create a new thread



The short answer to that, is that many before have wished the same and still do, but sadly no one holds the answer to add nrw creature or spells yet. Also I do believe there's already one or two threads about adding new creature, you might as well just add to that, rather than making a new thread
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted June 30, 2022 09:03 AM

I know that programming is very good proffesions! But other egsisting too!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Ancientdruids
Ancientdruids


Known Hero
(Andruids for short)
posted July 07, 2022 04:15 PM

I was feeling bored yesterday and wondered how Ice Demons would look as more regular demons. This is how it turned out:



passably demonic, if you ask me

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted July 07, 2022 04:20 PM

Ancientdruids said:
I was feeling bored yesterday and wondered how Ice Demons would look as more regular demons. This is how it turned out:



passably demonic, if you ask me


Nice
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted July 08, 2022 01:31 AM

We already have two sprites of red ice demons for ingame

Though, there is no faction that uses such color background. Demons use the regular grey death one (which at least I turned into a lightning storm)
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Albyx
Albyx


Hired Hero
posted July 09, 2022 10:46 AM

Hi, I've found a way to add more creatures into creature portal.
At 59f9aa game sets the beginning of creature array, by default it is 0097e078.
The end is set at 59fb5f (0097E098, it is 4 bytes after the last creature code).

And this array in theory can be as big or as small as you want, but there are only 12 available "rings" by default in portal dialog window, to have more than 12 you'll have to add more rings into game resource files.

So, to add new creatures, you should create new array of creature codes somewhere in exe or dll (I guess it can be done by plugin), and set values in 59f9aa and 59fb5f correctly.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted July 09, 2022 10:49 AM

NimoStar said:
We already have two sprites of red ice demons for ingame

Though, there is no faction that uses such color background. Demons use the regular grey death one (which at least I turned into a lightning storm)


Err, might uses the red color for their faction
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
karmakeld
karmakeld


Responsible
Supreme Hero
posted July 09, 2022 10:51 AM

Albyx said:
Hi, I've found a way to add more creatures into creature portal.
At 59f9aa game sets the beginning of creature array, by default it is 0097e078.
The end is set at 59fb5f (0097E098, it is 4 bytes after the last creature code).

And this array in theory can be as big or as small as you want, but there are only 12 available "rings" by default in portal dialog window, to have more than 12 you'll have to add more rings into game resource files.

So, to add new creatures, you should create new array of creature codes somewhere in exe or dll (I guess it can be done by plugin), and set values in 59f9aa and 59fb5f correctly.


You should test it. The layer can be edited with the Resource Editor, that way you can add more "Rings" to the dialog window.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Albyx
Albyx


Hired Hero
posted July 09, 2022 12:23 PM

karmakeld said:
Albyx said:
Hi, I've found a way to add more creatures into creature portal.
At 59f9aa game sets the beginning of creature array, by default it is 0097e078.
The end is set at 59fb5f (0097E098, it is 4 bytes after the last creature code).

And this array in theory can be as big or as small as you want, but there are only 12 available "rings" by default in portal dialog window, to have more than 12 you'll have to add more rings into game resource files.

So, to add new creatures, you should create new array of creature codes somewhere in exe or dll (I guess it can be done by plugin), and set values in 59f9aa and 59fb5f correctly.


You should test it. The layer can be edited with the Resource Editor, that way you can add more "Rings" to the dialog window.


It works! I copied ring_12 in layers.dialog.Creature_Portal, changed its name to ring_13 and changed coordinates.
If you add 13 or more creatures without adding rings, game crashes.

You also can make creature array smaller, for example if you want to remove mantises.

Btw, how can I add an image to the post?

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted July 09, 2022 01:06 PM

Congratulation! Its always great succes add new content.
Nice but portal is failed idea because AI didnt know how to use it. Its like cheat code because if you get AI city you have full growth since structures was built. My idea is give only one creature! Maybe AI is able buy it!
Maybe you can do the same with normal city dwellings? To have 4 units to choice instead 2 will be wonderfull!

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted July 09, 2022 02:46 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 14:51, 09 Jul 2022.

Quote:
Err, might uses the red color for their faction


It's not that red or textured. Also all demons are death, not might.

Not that I care, I have alreayd modded both rings and factions before...

____

Nice idea on the portal. A way to add Gargantuans for example. Usually there are 8 creatures so you could add up to 4 more without editing layers.

Do non-nature creatures crash the game as with normal recruiting, or you can add any faction?


______

TO add images to post, use external host and copy link https://abload.de/
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Albyx
Albyx


Hired Hero
posted July 09, 2022 05:33 PM
Edited by Albyx at 21:21, 10 Jul 2022.

NimoStar said:

Nice idea on the portal. A way to add Gargantuans for example. Usually there are 8 creatures so you could add up to 4 more without editing layers.

Do non-nature creatures crash the game as with normal recruiting, or you can add any faction?


I guess there can only be nature creatures, but I didn't check it.

Also, is there any info on how to turn creature portals back on for AI in Equilibris? I have an idea how to make them work.

Edit:
I've made portal.h library for Patcher, to change creatures just edit codes_array and creature_count.
[url]https://www.mediafire.com/file/fdgzznzk83ul3gn/Portal.h/file[/url]

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted July 10, 2022 06:48 AM

Well, I guess it falls upon me to try non-nature creatures...

Quote:
Also, is there any info on how to turn creature portals back on for AI in Equilibris? I have an idea how to make them work.


No idea, but bear in mind there is no "back on": They never worked, not even in the unmodded base game (which I use for ULTIMATE as well).

If you want to re-enable something unnecessarily disabled in Equilibris, try Town Portal in combat.

Plus there is a whole mini-movie about "player magically escaped from battle" that only happens if you casted town-portal in combat and in equi it is wasted...

But anyways, if you can program a whole thing about letting AI recruit from creature portal as it does from castle, please do so.

In fact, I would like that other towns have their own "creature portal" as well... (nature would have to be buffed somehow to compensate)
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted July 10, 2022 10:19 AM

Yes creature portal will be better in Might faction because has only 1 hero. You dont need to have only nature faction in portal because its another aligment formula. Its not a faction unit.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Albyx
Albyx


Hired Hero
posted July 10, 2022 09:25 PM
Edited by Albyx at 21:35, 10 Jul 2022.

I've updated link in my previous post.

Now it also includes fix for attack and defense incorrect rounding in portal and other recruitment screens. Also improved portal functions.

baronus said:
Yes creature portal will be better in Might faction because has only 1 hero. You dont need to have only nature faction in portal because its another aligment formula. Its not a faction unit.

I think barbarians using portal would look strange
They can have gnashers or other monsters dwelling though, like third level 4 dwelling that can be built without choice restrictions. Maybe Sea monsters to eat other factions OP heroes

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
baronus
baronus


Promising
Legendary Hero
posted July 11, 2022 09:05 AM

Build both dwellings is possible but way how to do is lost. If you know it may be a solution. Barbarian has two empty places in game town screen. Harm that creators not use it to give additional 2 units to choice one.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Honorable
Legendary Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted July 11, 2022 03:51 PM
Edited by NimoStar at 22:32, 11 Jul 2022.

Barbarians could have a "creature portal" with other name to recruit Sea Monsters, Mermaids, Frenzied Gnashers and so on from XP.

Way to build 2 dwellings with map script is easy. Just disable one of the level 1 dwellings. Then choose a level 2-3-4. You can build 1 normally and set the other to be built via a timed event on the city. You can even set comditionals and asks such as "do you want to build this for 20000 gold and 20 stone?" and such.

but doing everything via scripts is lousy.

Anyways, if it could be that Might has third level 4 or a creature portal of their own, they would need to have the +50% growth building disabled since it would be pretty OP.

Keep in mind Might can already recruit all factions might heroes so they already have access to nobility.
____________
Never changing = never improving

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Albyx
Albyx


Hired Hero
posted July 11, 2022 07:59 PM
Edited by Albyx at 20:02, 11 Jul 2022.

I think I found a way to add new buildings!

But first I need to add new image to the layers.town.might.layout.

With Resource Editor I see only "export background" button, how can I export buildings themselves? I need it to add new building layer.

The code is written, it is literally the last remaining thing to do I think.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 15 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 · «PREV / NEXT»
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0864 seconds