Heroes of Might and Magic Community
visiting hero! Register | Today's Posts | Games | Search! | FAQ/Rules | AvatarList | MemberList | Profile


Age of Heroes Headlines:  
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
6 Aug 2016: Troubled Heroes VII Expansion Release - read more
26 Apr 2016: Heroes VII XPack - Trial by Fire - Coming out in June! - read more
17 Apr 2016: Global Alternative Creatures MOD for H7 after 1.8 Patch! - read more
7 Mar 2016: Romero launches a Piano Sonata Album Kickstarter! - read more
19 Feb 2016: Heroes 5.5 RC6, Heroes VII patch 1.7 are out! - read more
13 Jan 2016: Horn of the Abyss 1.4 Available for Download! - read more
17 Dec 2015: Heroes 5.5 update, 1.6 out for H7 - read more
23 Nov 2015: H7 1.4 & 1.5 patches Released - read more
31 Oct 2015: First H7 patches are out, End of DoC development - read more
5 Oct 2016: Heroes VII development comes to an end.. - read more
[X] Remove Ads
LOGIN:     Username:     Password:         [ Register ]
HOMM1: info forum | HOMM2: info forum | HOMM3: info mods forum | HOMM4: info CTG forum | HOMM5: info mods forum | MMH6: wiki forum | MMH7: wiki forum
Heroes Community > Heroes 4 - Lands of Axeoth > Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited
Thread: Heroes 4 Modding Revisited This thread is 8 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 · «PREV
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Responsible
Famous Hero
posted November 23, 2019 09:43 PM
Edited by Karmakeld at 00:20, 24 Nov 2019.

As per request of NimoStar; we can also change the appearance of the adventure sprites. Just have to figure out why it's off center.

Anyway, the process is similar to most other methods of replacing images. Using Namerutan's ResourceHelper to import the changed ora file. The new file lacks the header which seems to be these 4 bytes "02 00 02 00" and a 10 bytes footprint (extract the original file to get the proper footprint code).
EDIT: I found that in some cases the ResouceHelper adds a bunch of bytes to the footprint (mostly lots of 00's after a serie of ff's). Best compare with the original code, but you need to delete these, else the animation won't show in game (it will appear blank).



edit: aaaand.. fixed

8th. and 4th. last bytes (counting backwards from the end) is image position compared to hero ring. Often xx 254 255 255 xx 254 255 255 or similar/ xx fe ff ff xx fe ff ff.


____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Responsible
Supreme Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted November 24, 2019 01:24 AM

Nice. So you did convert the chaos witch, that's one less to go :V

It looks good.
____________
https://www.moddb.com/mods/greatest-mod

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Responsible
Famous Hero
posted November 24, 2019 11:21 AM
Edited by Karmakeld at 12:25, 24 Nov 2019.

NimoStar said:
Nice. So you did convert the chaos witch, that's one less to go :V

It looks good.


Well only sort of. I'm attempting to see if I can edit the combat image and import that, rather than having to insert all the frames from the combat one into the adventure one and adjust the placement. So far I can succesfully add the file to the game without it crashing, so I got the header and footprint right, only the animation isn't visable, so I'm guessing that most likely it's waaay out of placement and thus not showing, could be caused by a reduced canvas size..(?) So basically some changes are visual and others aren't so not a full conversion.. yet..

If/when dll extensions are better understand we could potentially add new hero skins.

Edit: Just read a note from NimoStar that the spr files contains a set a number of frames for each part of the animations, so this could also be the cause why they don't display, will have to check this one..
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Promising
Known Hero
posted November 24, 2019 02:14 PM

Yeah, that is caused by the canvas size. If you resize the frames but use the canvas size of the hero/creature that you want to use to import, it will be almost centered without any crash.



But it still needs you to adjust the footprint by hex editing. It would be really good to have the Resource Editor or any tool to do it properly.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Responsible
Famous Hero
posted November 24, 2019 03:39 PM

Nice to see you confirmed that part, still I'm leaning towards the lacking images is caused by a mismatch of info (number of frames to be read) in the spr file.
So far it hasn't been a big deal adjusting the footprint, as long as it isn't far off center (but I've only had to move it horizontally). I'll direct iLiVe to this and see if he can add this as a feature as well.
Basically it's just an import of an ora file and saving as h4d which is already working. New features would be to add the ability to edit the footprint (not sure how the base/creature ring is placed though, as that's a different file it's read from) and auto add the header. Other than I'm thinking a similar way of how objects are made - opening an exising actor sequence and importing into that - would be the approach.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
NimoStar
NimoStar


Responsible
Supreme Hero
Modding the Unmoddable
posted November 25, 2019 12:11 AM
Edited by NimoStar at 12:41, 25 Nov 2019.

This is what I mean with the animation control in the SPR. There is a value after each. In the combat object there are more controls.



I am unsure if this is number or frames, or speed of animation, or something else (in the Combat file, one of them does control the animations speed). In the case it is the second, it is not likely this is your problem. I didn't have problems with it since I simply copied the combat ones and removed the extra values leaving only the first (I think it was the first, anyways).

Most likely they all have similar values of "04", "06", etc. in Adventure.

The "attack" frame has curiously "0a" as its value, so 10, either 10 frames or 10 speed. You can check the actual archdevil adventure attack anim and confirm this (the file, since the actual displayed might differ due to game code). If it has just one frame, then it is definitely the speed. If it has 10, it is definitely the number of frames.

The "11" that follows is just the hex lenght of "archdevil.walk.ne" (so, 17 bytes, 11 in hexadecimal notation) and each text is preceded by such ("wait" is preceded by "04" hex)

____________
https://www.moddb.com/mods/greatest-mod

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
vulcancolak
vulcancolak


Famous Hero
posted November 09, 2020 12:08 PM
Edited by vulcancolak at 12:10, 09 Nov 2020.

Hello everyone. I have found the Magi and spells and i am trying to remove poison spell from mages or at least replace it with another spell. My problem is i cannot find the poison spell (6f) or raise skeleton spell (7d)

Am i missing something?



WhiteRider said:

A lit bit further in the file you will see the following string which is connected to the mage (23h):

19 7f . 28 52 . 00 00 . 00 00 which means the following - if there are 25 (19h) or more mages in the stack add 7f spell (mass blur), if there 40 (28h) or more mages add 52 spell (mass curse) and mages have two blank spots left for more spells.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Promising
Known Hero
posted November 09, 2020 07:35 PM

It is because their normal spells are stored somewhere else in the exe. Unfortunately not many people know where exactly, probably only some of the Equi team members and perhaps kkfkkfk (I hope it's his correct nick lol). Here you cannot find their poison spell anyway.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bulya
Bulya


Adventuring Hero
posted November 10, 2020 12:53 PM

Does anybody know where the abilities of the Frenzied Gnasher are stored in the equi mod?

I found practically all of the other creatures (apart for the Naga as well), and it seem to be almost exact to the locations of the WOW file. But the Gnashar seem missing, or to be exact its abilities and creature number are marked as 90 HEX for all the row that is supposed to represent the Gnashar. Which makes me believe it is stored somewhere else, may be even in the H4.dll.

Does anybody know where they are? (in the equi mod, I did find them in the WOW file)

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
radmutant69
radmutant69


Promising
Known Hero
posted November 10, 2020 01:25 PM

Here:



You can find all the 'missing' creatures around this address in the Equi exe.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bulya
Bulya


Adventuring Hero
posted November 11, 2020 02:41 PM

Thanks, I knew it was supposed somewhere there, as they added a third ability to the gnashar, but I couldn't find the exact address.

Thank you.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bulya
Bulya


Adventuring Hero
posted November 13, 2020 02:46 AM

Is there any sort of a log to the game? And if not, has anybody did one before?

A log to the game would be a very nice feature, easing many things. Just as an example, in combat, getting the idea of who got morale and who didn't at the start of each combat turn can be crucial. There is an animation to it, so its free information, but with 14 creatures on the battlefield I know players (including myself, and not only) are forced to lower down the combat speed to like -2 in crucial combats so that each combat turn they get the idea of who got morale, who didn't and who got bad morale for the turn. But playing with combat speed of -2 for the rest of the combat turn takes a lot of time, yet putting the speed higher for the rest of the turn isn't recommended as there is no sort of warning before the end of the combat turn to turn the speed back.

If no such feature (log or combat log) was made perhaps I will see if it can be added, but I bet its way more complicated then the other stuff I ever modded, be it in H4 or H5. So if there is something existing or at least a partial beginning, it would be very helpful.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Responsible
Famous Hero
posted November 14, 2020 10:03 AM

The only combat log I can think of/find is the one displayed in the lower right. But it only displays the actions of the current turn. So no log of what happened earlier or order of next hero/creature in line. I don't recall there's any log option in the combat settings.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bulya
Bulya


Adventuring Hero
posted November 14, 2020 01:14 PM

I know there is no obvious combat log, as I play the game as well.

But I wondered if somebody already at least started such a feature. Even if its just about telling who got morale at the beginning of the turn can be a very nice things to have.

I'm modding the game for several days now, and I can already catch various actions that happen, found where can I catch hero level-ups yesterday for example.

So adding a dll which will handle such events can be a way to implement a combat log, as long as I can also catch what is going on in the game. Or at least I assume its a way.
Though if I start with simple stuff perhaps I can make it happen, at least for the important things to me.

But if somebody already started such a thing, not to speak of implemented it, I don't want to reinvent the wheel here.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Karmakeld
Karmakeld


Responsible
Famous Hero
posted November 14, 2020 08:48 PM

To my knowledge no one started such a thing. Just a recommandation from the rest of the modding community, it would be nice if you would post any modding progress as it will surely be able to help others in various parts of modding the game.
____________

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Bulya
Bulya


Adventuring Hero
posted November 15, 2020 02:24 PM

I didn't do much for now. I changed some spells so that a couple of level 5 spells which aren't used at all move lower to a level 4 (on in the case of pain mirror to level 3), with the mana cost according to the level.
I made a couple of spells unteachable, as before we had to block those for the maps we play as well as block the books of order and life so that there is no way of using those spells in our PvP games. So with those spells being unteachable it allows us playing with those books open, which is nice, but yet have to be tested weather its balanced or not.

We are making a list of changes of what minor artifacts should be swapped to being major (the ring of speed is definitely one for example), and perhaps some Major artifacts will find themselves as minor as they don't see any usage even when claimed. I'm waiting for a list everybody agrees on, as such changes are easy. May be some artifacts will switch places by means of where they are put. Other possible changes might be for a couple of staffs and the greater sword from being both hands to the right hand, and on the other hand if we do agree on a way the robe of the guardian can be nerfed enough to open it on the maps we play (for now it is blocked on most of the maps we play), perhaps it will be switched from the shoulders to the body.

So going on, I'm starting to see if I can find the procedures that will allow me catching actions by the game. I was also looking to whether I can change the experience required to level up heroes, something I did not find on any forum yet. So I did manage to catch the procedure which levels up heroes, and its about find the triggers for it to find where the experience table is, which I believe should be part of the executable, unlike all the spells stuff.
Finding such a procedure, I believe I can find similar ones for those that trigger morale, new combat turn, etc. If I do, perhaps a combat log will become a thing then.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
iliveinabox05
iliveinabox05


Promising
Known Hero
posted December 13, 2020 04:50 AM
Edited by iliveinabox05 at 21:15, 14 Dec 2020.

Just wanted to leave this here for later, but the creature table (numerical values) for the GoG Complete version of heroes4.exe is at the hex offset 00585570, and the string names of the creatures are at hex offset 00664d4c

Add 400000 hex to the addresses when viewing in something like Ollydbg.

 Send Instant Message | Send E-Mail | View Profile | Quote Reply | Link
Jump To: « Prev Thread . . . Next Thread » This thread is 8 pages long: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 · «PREV
Post New Poll    Post New Topic    Post New Reply

Page compiled in 0.0461 seconds